URSA Mini 4.6K Amateur (affordable) rig

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Chris__Martin

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 10:57 pm

Hi all...

Im a leisure videographer, but am in love with the URSA Mini 4.6k.. I'm looking for some help to get some minimal rig/accessories for my leisurely filming of my kids and some landscape/city/ocean videos I put together...

I know many will think I should get another camera, but I've shot with the BMCC, and loved it, and want to crank it up a notch with the higher frame rates and resolution with the mini ursa...

I've got plenty of canon glass for the ef mount, but what are some affordable accessories that are must haves for me... I already know i need these dang expensive CTFast cards... Batteries? Variable ND Filters? shoulder/handheld rig for it (affordable, dont need a crazy gimble).. maybe viewfinder/external monitor....

Trying to keep the accessories contained to cheapest I can get... I don't need full fledged feature film requirements for this rig. Thanks for your help!

Chris__Martin

Re: URSA Mini 4.6K Amateur (affordable) rig

PostFri Aug 12, 2016 7:07 pm

bumping this post

Denny Smith

PostFri Aug 12, 2016 8:39 pm

The Ursa Mini has its own shoulder/tripod rig. You get it with the Shoulder/handle mount accessory kit. You do not need a cage per se, as,the camera has many'of the accessories built in. You will need to add either the BM EVF or a Zacuto Gratical EVF (Zacuto will require an additional monitor holder). The BM EVF is great, costs less and designed to mount in the handle nicely.

Also you will need a bigger tripod that is rated for at least 35-45 lbs and an appropriate video fluid head rated for at least 25-35 lbs for proper operation. 15-mm Rods mount directly to the tripod release plate that is part of the shoulder kit. But you,will need a Sony VCT 14 tripod plate to go with it.