Cinema DNG use without Resolve.

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

simonkn

Cinema DNG use without Resolve.

PostSat Sep 01, 2012 5:05 pm

Hi guys..

I'm about 130 on the CVP list for a Cinema Camera so will not be needing this advice for -- o -- about 6 months!! (grin)

Now i'm going potty about the camera and can't wait to play with it. I intend to offer it for high-end weddings as well as my corporate stuff alongside my Sony Z5 & Atomos Ninja setup. So it'll mostly be working in ProRes guise...

Of course I'd like to experiment with CinemaDNG, but have completely forgotton that i only have a late 2007 iMac and a late 2011 Macbook Air..

So, Resolve seems out of the question.. What options do I have for grading the Cinema DNG footage? I have Final Cut Studio 3, CS 5 Master Suite and Lightroom available to me... I'm reading about these being used but have only used Photoshop etc in a static image environment...

Obviously I'm a poor student.... well, ok, no... but a poorer filmmaker, so no big bucks answers please!!??

Cheers

Simon Knight
MediaHound Films

splice+post

Re: Cinema DNG use without Resolve.

PostSat Sep 01, 2012 6:39 pm

Though I'm not particularly sure about CS5, you can still experiment with the files in adobe after effects. In CS6, when you import the cinemaDNG sequence files, it first opens it in a color metadata window, where you can set things like white balance etc. before it imports. Then you can grade with whatever plugin you comfortable with. Not tested in CS5 but try it and hopefully, you can share your findings with others who similar advice.

simonkn

PostSat Sep 01, 2012 7:38 pm

good start.. thank you..

Again, unfortunately by the time I actually get my hands on a camera I'm sure all the answers will be known...
Suppose i should just wait really! (grin)

Cheers

SK

Eric Santiago

PostSat Sep 01, 2012 9:45 pm