Practicality, Probability, Liklihood of Compressed Raw?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Steve Lee Jean

Practicality, Probability, Liklihood of Compressed Raw?

PostWed Feb 20, 2013 4:06 am

Let me start by saying, for the price, I wouldn't mind if the BMCC shot in ProRESHQ and nothing else. I have limited experience using R3Draw and even less experience with it in POST, but one thing that I noticed off the bat was just the nature of file sizes.

I guess it comes off as a two part question:

1. How are people handling the CinemaDNG file sizes, and coping with storage in redundancy? This is looking rather pricey, to a point where after projects are done, I likely wont be able to afford keeping stock capture. Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

2. Is there a possibility for BMD to create a proprietary RAW codec? While some films like Prometheus and Girl With the Dragon Tattoo were shot with RED 5:1 comp, they're also shooting in 4-4.5k which will give greater latitude in post. Just curious.

And a thousand apologies if the question was asked before. I realize the topic is a bit sensitive, given Red's recent lawsuit against Sony on the very issue. But I realize that ARRI have their own proprietary RAW codec (not sure if its licensed by Red?) and I do realize that ARRI's manpower eclipses BMD by far and away. But even comp at 2:1 would be huge.(though likely impractical)

Thanks so much!
Director/Writer
Busan, South Korea + Los Angeles, CA

Peter J. DeCrescenzo

Re: Practicality, Probability, Liklihood of Compressed Raw?

PostWed Feb 20, 2013 4:53 am

Storage is relatively inexpensive. A 3TB 7200rpm SATA-3 bare hard drive now sells for about $130. And the cost of storage continues to fall.

Given all the possible things BMD engineers might be concerned about, should the storage requirements of uncompressed 2.5K RAW CinemaDNG files be a high priority for the company?

Cheers.

Juan Salvo

PostWed Feb 20, 2013 5:04 am