Ursa Mini card slot switch

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

AlanSeawright

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 pm

Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSat Mar 18, 2017 5:02 pm

This may be the dumbest question in a long personal history of dumb questions:
Is there a way to switch card slots (which one is active/being recorded to) manually? I guess I can pop one out of the camera, but that seems awfully... physical? Is that the right word.

I mean. Not a big deal. Just seems weird that I can't find a way to select card slot.
I aim to misbehave.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6279
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSat Mar 18, 2017 5:39 pm

Not that I know of, the last card inserted is the active slot from what I understand. The new UM Pro has a selection switch to select SD or CFast cards, but not "slots" per se. :mrgreen:
Last edited by Denny Smith on Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 1022
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSat Mar 18, 2017 9:02 pm

You can switch by tapping on the card symbol on the screen.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6279
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSun Mar 19, 2017 12:47 am

Robert, now that is cool! Thanks for the update.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 6675
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSun Mar 19, 2017 6:23 pm

In the Menu Record tab, scroll over and you can select which card to record to. The default is the card with the most free space when you begin, but often you want to fill up a card before going to a fresh card.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 6675
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSun Mar 19, 2017 6:24 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:You can switch by tapping on the card symbol on the screen.


When I tap on the card, it brings up the Format screen. Maybe I'm not tapping correctly.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Tim Schumann

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:21 am

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostSun Mar 19, 2017 11:06 pm

Rick when you are in the media status screen (what you are referring to as the formatting screen) you can tap on each of the cards up the top to switch between which one is active.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 6675
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Ursa Mini card slot switch

PostMon Mar 20, 2017 12:37 am

Oh so simple! Thanks, Tim.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Itisipotman, NathanCole and 15 guests