BMPCC - Internal Mic TWEAK (Clear Sound)

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Eric Gonzalez

BMPCC - Internal Mic TWEAK (Clear Sound)

PostMon Apr 03, 2017 5:16 am

Greetings to all users and fellow Blackmagic aficionados!

This is my first post on the forum, as I've been an avid watcher/checker here and the tips and advice from you all have been an amazing help and value to my usage of BM products. I wanted to post my first tip to everyone out there who has a Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera, and *may* want to use the internal mics for whatever reason.

Also, if this all seems TL/DR, or obvious, I apologize. I only intended to inform and inspire. Cheers!

Perhaps someone on here has already posted about the internal mics and outboard fixes that make the BMPCC a great usable solution for audio. As an audio engineer myself, I wanted to dig in deeper into the BMPCC's recording system and shed some light on my findings.

So I've seen many posts here (and everywhere else online) where users speak about the BMPCC's internal mics, and how they are very bad for recording anything usable. That got me to thinking... Why is that?

I started by recording a RAW video, all settings set to maximum quality, and audio settings to their defaults, using the Internal microphones, so that I could grab the unaltered WAV file for analyzing. After transferring to the computer, what I heard was just... YUCK!

I loaded up my favorite DAW, and opened a spectrum analyzer. These were my findings:

RAW Audio coming from the BMPCC is recorded at 48,000KHz, 2 Channel (Stereo), encapsulated as an uncompressed 'WAV' file. Pretty impressive sampling rate, two channels of audio, and should be able to include enough data for the high-end frequency spectrum, right? Well...