Ursa Mini Pro: Windowed Sensor Stuck in RAW

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

paulgolden

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:16 am
  • Location: portlandia

Ursa Mini Pro: Windowed Sensor Stuck in RAW

PostThu May 18, 2017 11:50 pm

Just got my upgrade from Ursa Mini to Pro last week.

My new Ursa Mini Pro (firmware 4.3.3) is now exhibiting the following problem:

Off-speed recording is OFF; Project Rate is 23.98

If ProRes is selected, all shooting modes and sensor sizes are fine. I can switch easily between normal and windowed sensor.

If RAW is selected (any size, any flavor, except for 4.6K) , the windowed sensor switch is stuck “ON” and grayed out so that it can’t be turned off.

I've confirmed this by connecting an SDI monitor and watching the image size change as I cycle through the settings. The settings when RAW is selected show every size as Windowed.

I’ve done a factory reset, I've upgraded and downgraded firmwares, nothing will allow me to select normal sensor mode when I’m shooting RAW.

Normally, the window sensor mode only appears if the frame rate is above 60fps. Now it's permanently on if RAW is selected.

What’s going on?
Offline

Chris Pearse

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:34 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Ursa Mini Pro: Windowed Sensor Stuck in RAW

PostFri May 19, 2017 1:11 am

Hi Paul,

This is the correct behaviour. Raw cannot be scaled, otherwise it would no longer be Raw. So the only way to use the full sensor is to use 4.6K Raw. Any smaller resolution has to be a window, or smaller portion of the sensor.

ProRes on the other hand can be scaled and therefore can either be taken from a window of the sensor, or scaled from the full sensor resolution
Chris Pearse
Product Specialist
Blackmagic Design Japan
Offline

paulgolden

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:16 am
  • Location: portlandia

Re: Ursa Mini Pro: Windowed Sensor Stuck in RAW

PostFri May 19, 2017 2:01 am

Ah... OK, I had the Ursa Mini (non Pro) before and could swear you could do that. But in general, I shot mostly ProRes and shot RAW at 4.6K, mostly, so perhaps I wasn't paying attention...
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 1423
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Ursa Mini Pro: Windowed Sensor Stuck in RAW

PostFri May 19, 2017 3:30 am

No, neither you could do that on the Mini.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 6955
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Ursa Mini Pro: Windowed Sensor Stuck in RAW

PostFri May 19, 2017 3:50 am

paulgolden wrote:... swear you could do that...


Memory is a funny thing. I am surprised each time I 'remember' something that turns out to be simply something I wanted to be true, but alas, it's a figment of my imagination! You know what I mean: like the time I was president.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Rick Lang

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gene Kochanowsky, Google [Bot] and 12 guests