DNxHD DEMAND

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostMon May 21, 2018 11:40 am

Ho hope like many other to have more codec as possible, not only for me, but also for delivery footage to other.
Dnxhr is not avaible, May be a limit of 4.6k size? May be dnx work only with some size and proportion?
I know prores, cineform work with and size and shape, the only rule is that size must be 8 multiplex (May be for a compressione matrix), but today i could think.that dnx is in the some way limited to X standard size?
If it is like i thought, better to have in fine size like hd, fhd, uhd instead of Nothing like now. Broadcast use different sensor but output Broadcast size, and it have dnx

Inviato dal mio E6653 utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4350
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostMon May 21, 2018 12:53 pm

There is no mod 8 rule for ProRes nor Cineform nor DNxHR. You can export any "fancy" frame size.
We should focus on DNxHR, not DNxHD which is by design(/licensing?) limited to HD and strict broadcast frame sizes.
Offline

Marco Raboy

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 7:26 am

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostTue May 29, 2018 11:25 pm

Bumping this request back up. Was hoping that firmware 5.x for the Ursa Mini Pro would feature DNxHR and Gen 4 color science like whats been available for firmware 5.x on the Ursa Broadcast.

Thought they might have been waiting for CineGear to update the UMP but with the latest firmware release not including either feature I'm starting to worry they may never arrive. Hoping that if we make enough noise for demand that it won't fall by the wayside for development on other cameras.
-Marco Raboy
Offline
User avatar

Pat Lance

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:28 pm

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostThu May 31, 2018 12:27 am

Yes for DNxHR!
Offline

Bearallison

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:19 am

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 01, 2018 4:19 am

+1 for DNxHR on all Ursa Mini cameras
Offline

Sean van Berlo

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:33 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 01, 2018 7:16 am

Serious question: your pc can read Prores and export footage into DNxHD without any visual loss, right? Assuming any footage you have will need to be graded/edit anyway (and therefore need to be re-rendered), what is the problem? I honestly might be missing something here.
Offline
User avatar

Pat Lance

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:28 pm

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 01, 2018 11:48 am

Sean van Berlo wrote:Serious question: your pc can read Prores and export footage into DNxHD without any visual loss, right? Assuming any footage you have will need to be graded/edit anyway (and therefore need to be re-rendered), what is the problem? I honestly might be missing something here.


Here's a post facility explaining why they have switched to DNxHR:

http://blog.cineground.com/2017/05/16/12/
Offline
User avatar

Valentin Remy

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:52 pm
  • Location: Belgium

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 01, 2018 2:58 pm

Yes, even if I don't need it.

It's always been greyed out in the menu since the beginning, and zero updates since launch.
http://www.valentinremy.be
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 556
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 01, 2018 3:53 pm

Yes, +1 for DNx on the BMPCC 4K as well.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 9564
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostSat Jun 02, 2018 3:36 pm

Pat, thanks for that link. I always optimize my raw to ProRes HQ for editing/grading in Resolve on my iMac. Wondering if anyone here would recommend DNxHR as a better intermediate codec for my use case?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3701
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostSun Jun 03, 2018 4:48 am

IMHO, it depends on your environment. If you have clients with specific needs, you have to serve them.
As long as it's personal use, there's not much of a difference, at least not quality wise.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Kel Philm

  • Posts: 243
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:21 am

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostSun Jun 03, 2018 9:41 pm

I have had a number of issues in the PC world with strange gamma shifts when using Prores, DNx encodings fixed all these, both PC and Mac clients once persuaded have had no issues. Prores is fine for an all Mac workflow but introduce a PC and it becomes a lottery.
Offline
User avatar

Peter Furia

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostThu Jun 14, 2018 8:35 pm

Here's my annual reply, reiterating strong need for DNxHD/R please. Blackmagic needs to be thinking about optimized playback and rendering on PCs in 2018. I'm a life long Mac person, but I find PCs are so much more powerful for 4K workflows with Resolve and Adobe Premiere.
Offline
User avatar

Pat Lance

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:28 pm

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 15, 2018 11:48 am

I agree that this is a very important feature that is not only needed but is also becoming required in today's professional post world.
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2297
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostFri Jun 15, 2018 7:57 pm

rick.lang wrote:Pat, thanks for that link. I always optimize my raw to ProRes HQ for editing/grading in Resolve on my iMac. Wondering if anyone here would recommend DNxHR as a better intermediate codec for my use case?


Since you're on a mac, you probably wouldn't gain much, though QuickTime is notorious for inconsistent color on other platforms.

It is definitely becoming a necessity for more and more though, because quicktime in windows is bad, and macs are falling ever farther behind (due, I suspect, to a lack of interest in Apple's part).
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
HP Spectre x360 Kaby Lake-R w/ 1080Ti eGPU in RazerCore
Offline
User avatar

Peter Benson

  • Posts: 281
  • Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:12 pm
  • Location: Eastern Time Zone, USA

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostSat Jun 16, 2018 8:34 am

Uli Plank wrote:You can process ProRes on PCs without QT, using DR 14 or even Premiere Pro (but it's more mature in DR).
How about DR 15Bx Is this same capability in there as well?

RStudio 14.3...014 | MiniMon. | DTV 10.9.7 | Win8.1 x64 | ROG G751JL, 2.8GHz Intel i7HQ, 24GB DDR4, 1TB HD, 500GB EVO 850, 2GB GTX965M | Mackie MCU Pro | Softube Console 1 Mkii | Shuttle Pro 2
DTV 10.9.7 > Kingston SD5000T > MiniMonitor > Bravia | Samsung U28D590 | DRS 14.3.0.014 | Win8.1 x64 | ASUS G751JL, i7-4720HQ, 24GB | GTX965M | 1TB HDD, 500GB EVO 850 SSD | MCU Pro | Softube Console 1 Mkii | Shuttle Pro 2
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3701
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: DNxHD DEMAND

PostSat Jun 16, 2018 10:52 am

Yes, no problem opening ProRes on a PC. H.264 had more problems now after the last Windows update ;-)
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Previous

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adam Silver, BrettHazlett, PaulDelVecchio and 13 guests