BMPC: Doubts with the lenses

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Christian Martinez

BMPC: Doubts with the lenses

PostTue Aug 22, 2017 3:20 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, I hope to learn a lot!

I am a newbie in the video world, I am learning a lot now and I want to acquire to start in this world a Blackmagic Pocket, which I have seen that gives very good results. The problem is that I'm a little lost in a couple of things about the lenses.

I have been looking and I am interested in the Samyang, mainly for the price, but I listen to alternatives. But being a Micro 4/3 mount I do not know exactly which optics I should choose, because with compatibility I get lost. I also do not know what is better, if I buy an adapter to Canon and handle with Samyang optics for Canon (but I would still catch the same image size as the Micro 4/3, or acquire a Metabones (very expensive) and also record with optics How do you recommend me?

-Micro 4/3
-Metabones Micro 4/3 to Canon
-Low Micro Adapter 4/3 to Canon

I would also like to know if Canon lenses are compatible with the Blackmagic autofocus.

I would like you to advise me what kind of glasses to buy to start making short films.

I understand that the trim factor is 2.4, so if I want a 50mm, I should buy a 20mm or the nearest one. But what generates me doubts is if the lenses that buy, always refer to full frame, that is to say, a 50mm lens is 50mm in full frame even if it has MFT frame?

Greetings, forgive my English and thank you very much !!

Denny Smith

Re: BMPC: Doubts with the lenses

PostTue Aug 22, 2017 5:35 pm

So you have the Pocket Camera? BMPC actually refers to the BM Production Camera, which is a larger camera with an EF mount.