SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

michaeldhead

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:41 pm

Ursa SSD Dock?

PostSat Mar 25, 2017 5:53 pm

Hello all - I've been looking at Blackmagic cameras for some time, and I'm almost ready to bite the bullet - specifically the Mini Pro looks very good.

But I have a question - I've seen one website that said that Blackmagic Design is working on an SSD dock that will attack to the back is the Ursa cameras. This is of major interest to me because I have several SSDs and right now CFast cards are very expensive. However, I cannot find any information about the possible SSD adapter on Blackmagic's website. I've searched the forums and the website, but can anyone point me to more information about that device? I'm sure the info will be obvious, but I cannot find it.

Thank you!
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 1496
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostMon Mar 27, 2017 4:06 pm

It is announced in the video of the new ursa mini pro..

Check at >> 57:28



But it is not released yet.. nor is there any documentations about it..

Maybe at NAB you will see it for the first time.. But who knows.. There is not a official release date on the unit yet..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline

michaeldhead

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostFri Mar 31, 2017 8:29 pm

Cool - thank you. But it takes the SGI connections? The announcement doesn't say whether or not it will allow for SGI pass-through, does it?
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 1496
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostWed Apr 05, 2017 2:51 pm

There is no futher anouncement about this.. This is all the info we have at the moment.. Keep your eye on info that comes from NAB in 2,5 weeks.. I guess they will show it there...
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline

Greg Huson

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:34 pm
  • Location: Culver City, CA

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostThu Apr 06, 2017 5:33 am

Looks like a version of the hyperdeck shuttle - you can see the prototype/mock-up in the press conference from last month - go to the press page on the bmd web site and scroll down a bit.
GH
----------------------------------------------------
Greg Huson
Secret Headquarters, Inc
Post Production / Production
Culver City, CA
323 677 2092
www.SecretHQ.com
www.DigitalServiceStation.com
greg (at) SecretHQ.com
Offline

michaeldhead

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostWed Aug 16, 2017 1:50 am

I'm a little behind right now in my research - has there been any news about the SSD dock?
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7546
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostWed Aug 16, 2017 5:33 pm

Real Soon Now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

michaeldhead

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostWed Aug 16, 2017 5:54 pm

rick.lang wrote:Real Soon Now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Soon as in Soon, or soon as in Soon(tm)? :)

Really, I'm mostly waiting to bite because I'd rather have SSDs than Cfast. And I'd rather have an official solution than a DIY solution (depending on the cost, that is...)
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7546
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostThu Aug 17, 2017 5:44 am

Years ago I explained the frequently used term Real Soon Now, aka RSN. It was popularized by the IT industry and usually meant you hoped your project would complete in the near future but you can't be sure of the date. In practice, it could mean as early as two weeks, but it might be two months away. RSN is a lot sooner than Soon! Soon would mean "I don't know, don't hold your breath, but it will be done before you fire me."


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Logan Vollmers

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:09 pm

SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 09, 2017 2:29 pm

Hey all,

New UMP owner here. Wondering when the announced SSD module for the Ursa cameras will be available and shipping? Originally I heard an August release. Just curious, as I think it would be a perfect compliment to the cam.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7546
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostMon Sep 11, 2017 7:10 pm

BMD was hoping the delivery would occur about the same time as the F mount, but that may not be the case. The F mount shipped about month-end, but no estimated date for the SSD has been provided yet AFAIK.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Tim Schumann

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:21 am

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostTue Sep 12, 2017 1:04 am

We will be showing it at IBC and shipping shortly after.
Offline

Logan Vollmers

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostTue Sep 12, 2017 1:59 pm

:D
Offline
User avatar

James Alexander Barnett

  • Posts: 170
  • Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:48 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostTue Sep 12, 2017 9:10 pm

Tim Schumann wrote:We will be showing it at IBC and shipping shortly after.


Hi Tim,

Can you tell us if it will have an SDI loop out so we can still connect a directors monitor for example?
James Alexander Barnett
www.jamesalexanderdp.co.uk
URSA Mini 4.6k
Offline

Tim Schumann

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:21 am

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 12:14 am

No the SDI In and Out connect to the camera's rear SDI connectors as a data link to and from the camera.

This means you can record in 4.6K RAW or ProRes, not just ProRes and play back from the SSD.
It also means that you get full feedback from the SSD recorder about time remaining on it, formatting disks, dropped frames, so essentially it works like another media slot on your camera that you can choose from.
Offline

MatSliwinski

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 9:03 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 7:00 am

Will you be annoucning any higher frame rates at IBC by any chance?
I know that the SSD module will allow you capture higher frame rates which was mentioned before!
Mat Sliwinski | Director & Editor
www.sliwinski.com.au
Melbourne, Australia.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7546
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 7:29 pm

Thanks for the timely update, Tim. Looking forward to seeing it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline
User avatar

Nate Follmer

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:08 pm
  • Location: PA

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 2:30 pm

Does this mean I'll be able to ditch the Atoch and actually close my LCD? I don't care what it costs then... Ship it! I'll buy it :D
Offline

JasonFinnigan

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 2:40 pm

Wonder how many people will give up their SDI out for the SSD Module?
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:30 pm

Anyone wanting to record directly to SSDs. You still have the monitor SDI output on the front of the camera for EVF or external monitors.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

thomas bruegger

  • Posts: 195
  • Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:43 pm
  • Location: switzerland

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:36 pm

JasonFinnigan wrote:Wonder how many people will give up their SDI out for the SSD Module?


yeah true, i probably wont.
Thomas Bruegger / garage5 GmbH
www.garage5.ch
Offline

Keith Babineaux

  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:56 pm
  • Location: Miami, FL

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:48 pm

Tim Schumann wrote:We will be showing it at IBC and shipping shortly after.


Tim,

Will it be available for the original URSA Mini 4.6K?
Keith Babineaux | Film Student | Full Sail University
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 5:10 pm

From what I understand, same unit works on both cameras, as they both have the needed SDI in/out ports, run the same firmware. Not sure about the Mini 4K however, wounder if it wil, work with it also?
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Paul Kapp

  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:43 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 6:45 pm

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Last edited by Paul Kapp on Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Nate Follmer

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:08 pm
  • Location: PA

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 7:08 pm

Paul Kapp wrote:
Nate Follmer wrote:Does this mean I'll be able to ditch the Atoch and actually close my LCD? I don't care what it costs then... Ship it! I'll buy it :D

+1
The Atoch works but it is flimsy and inelegant. The 1/4 20 mount on mine broke the first time I used it on a shoot. It is also massively over priced for what it is. It is made(badly) from $100 in parts you can buy yourself on the internet, and you would get a better case/enclosure.
The BM SSD recorder will sell for the same price. I'll be getting one.
One thing though, it will only take one SSD so no 4.6K 60p raw, though I can't imagine the need for that on a long shoot.


I ended up putting velcro on all my V-Mount batteries and the back of the Atoch. I couldn't mount it anywhere else without it being in the way. I really only went SSD because 90% of my shooting is longer format interview stuff, so I need the space.
Offline

Chris Carter

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:23 am

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 9:38 pm

The front SDI is 3G while the rear SDI is 12G - so quesrion for the Ursa mini 4.6k Users (or anyone who might know lol) WILL the front SDI work sufficently to ONLY MONITOR - not record - with the 5" or 7" Video assist. I need to be able to use an external monitor with my easy rig but also want that SSD. More like NEED SSD lol. THanks guys!!
Offline

Krzysztof Gluszek

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:11 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 9:46 pm

I am using ssd enclosure with cfast to esata cable, ssd is powered with light 5v powerbank - it is exactly the setup from Tom Antos tutorial.


I record 50/60p 4.6 raw 3:1 and 4:1 without any problems and no dropped frames to 500gb samsung 850evo SSDs. I didnt test uncompressed 60p raw though. I was using this setup during summer in 30-35 degrees celcius and during winter in -20 degrees. It worked without any flaws.
Offline

Keith Babineaux

  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:56 pm
  • Location: Miami, FL

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 10:15 pm

Krzysztof Gluszek wrote:I am using ssd enclosure with cfast to esata cable, ssd is powered with light 5v powerbank - it is exactly the setup from Tom Antos tutorial.

I record 50/60p 4.6 raw 3:1 and 4:1 without any problems and no dropped frames to 500gb samsung 850evo SSDs. I didnt test uncompressed 60p raw though. I was using this setup during summer in 30-35 degrees celcius and during winter in -20 degrees. It worked without any flaws.


I use the same setup and never had any problems. I added velcro to the back of my batteries and use a Dtap to power the SSD enclosure. It all cost me less than $100. Only thing that I don't like is the fact that you can't close the screen. That's why I'm also awaiting the release of the SSD module.
Keith Babineaux | Film Student | Full Sail University
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7546
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostFri Sep 15, 2017 3:58 am

Chris, the front SDI handles HD video so will be adequate to use for feeding a monitor like the BM Video Assist.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Earl R. Thurston

  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 pm
  • Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostFri Sep 15, 2017 4:40 am

Denny Smith wrote:From what I understand, same unit works on both cameras...Not sure about the Mini 4K however, wounder if it wil, work with it also?

Been wondering that myself. Would be cool if it did.
Offline

Chris Gosling

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:56 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostFri Sep 15, 2017 2:17 pm

rick.lang wrote:Chris, the front SDI handles HD video so will be adequate to use for feeding a monitor like the BM Video Assist.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Not only that - you can use a BNC splitter to split the signal to both the viewfinder and a video assist to use as a directors monitor.
Offline

JasonFinnigan

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostFri Sep 15, 2017 3:30 pm

Chris Gosling wrote:
rick.lang wrote:Chris, the front SDI handles HD video so will be adequate to use for feeding a monitor like the BM Video Assist.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Not only that - you can use a BNC splitter to split the signal to both the viewfinder and a video assist to use as a directors monitor.


I guess that depends but Directors don't usually want all the extra crap on their monitors.

Also for HD-SDI you don't want to use a BNC splitter. It needs to be a Distro Amp or Loop out, or HD-SDI Splitter

http://www.belden.com/blog/broadcastav/ ... -Video.cfm
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 1496
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 1:29 pm

There is 1 unit on the IBC.
It is an engineering sample and did not work yet at the booth..

As you can see it will be bolted between the Vlock plate and the Ursa body..

And yes you will loose those 2 SDI ports on the backside.
Attachments
SSDDisk.jpg
SSDDisk.jpg (867.41 KiB) Viewed 6256 times
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline

Keith Babineaux

  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:56 pm
  • Location: Miami, FL

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 3:43 pm

Xtreemtec wrote:There is 1 unit on the IBC.
It is an engineering sample and did not work yet at the booth..

As you can see it will be bolted between the Vlock plate and the Ursa body..

And yes you will loose those 2 SDI ports on the backside.


Thanks for the images. It looks like it might hold 2 SSD cards. It looks too bulky to hold just 1. It also looks like it's going to be a bit pricey.
Keith Babineaux | Film Student | Full Sail University
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 5:01 pm

No, probably just one, as their is only one SSD ready light on the side... time will tell.
Cheers
Last edited by Denny Smith on Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 1496
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 5:12 pm

i will check monday.. I'm there again
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 5:16 pm

Great, thanks Daniel. Looks like a recased Hyperdeck Shuttle with a new control board added, looks about the right size?
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Paul Kapp

  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:43 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 7:48 pm

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Last edited by Paul Kapp on Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:15 am, edited 3 times in total.
Offline

Paul Kapp

  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:43 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 8:10 pm

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Last edited by Paul Kapp on Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Keith Babineaux

  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:56 pm
  • Location: Miami, FL

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 8:52 pm

Paul Kapp wrote:
Xtreemtec wrote:And yes you will loose those 2 SDI ports on the backside.

If you have a monitor with SDI passthrough you could use the front SDI port and still use the EVF, though I would tend to use one or the other.

Keith Babineaux wrote:Thanks for the images. It looks like it might hold 2 SSD cards. It looks too bulky to hold just 1. It also looks like it's going to be a bit pricey.

It only holds one SSD.

The price will be AU$600, about US$480.
(Over US$100 less than an Atoch)

I saw this in Sydney in July at our SMPTE exhibition.


$480 isn't bad at all compared to the Atoch. It just looks bulky to me. I was using a SSD enclosure with a dummy Cfast connector for $100 anyway. This will make things easier and make the camera look professional. It will also save a lot of money in the future. I have 4 960GB SSD Cards. I'm waiting for it to start shipping next week.
Keith Babineaux | Film Student | Full Sail University
Offline

Keith Babineaux

  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:56 pm
  • Location: Miami, FL

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 8:54 pm

Denny Smith wrote:No, probably just one, as their is only one SSD ready light on the side... time will tell.
Cheers


I see it now. It has a SDI and SSD light. Why is it so bulky? My SSD enclosure is almost the same size as my SSD card.
Keith Babineaux | Film Student | Full Sail University
Offline

Chris Gosling

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:56 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 1:28 am

JasonFinnigan wrote:
Chris Gosling wrote:
rick.lang wrote:Chris, the front SDI handles HD video so will be adequate to use for feeding a monitor like the BM Video Assist.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Not only that - you can use a BNC splitter to split the signal to both the viewfinder and a video assist to use as a directors monitor.


I guess that depends but Directors don't usually want all the extra crap on their monitors.

Also for HD-SDI you don't want to use a BNC splitter. It needs to be a Distro Amp or Loop out, or HD-SDI Splitter

http://www.belden.com/blog/broadcastav/ ... -Video.cfm


Tried using a BNC splitter yesterday and it seemed to work just fine for adding a 5" Video Assist.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 5:09 am

Thanks Paul, it is hard to see in a photo.

Keith, I think the extra thick case is for the Video processor board and cooling to convert the 12G DNGs to Raw files.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 1243
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 10:55 am

Archibaldo, was going to post the same video - you were faster :)

Anyway, bad news for us UM46k users - SSD module won't be supported. It's UMP only.

To be honest I am a bit disappointed that BMD again starts to let the camera firmeware features drift between very similar models. It almost feels like UMP as the latest and greatest gets all the attention.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Ben Kaiser

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 1:08 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:bad news for us UM46k users - SSD module won't be supported. It's UMP only.


Thumbs down, BM. This is extremely disappointing!
cinematographer & avid editor
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 3:48 pm

So there you have it, one SSD, will not work as a stand alone recorder or record a different codec from the internal drives (Raw in one and ProRes in the other). Cost under $400.

From a Pro workflow perspective, the SSD drive is designed as a redundant/backup recording of what is being recorded by the camera's internal media (CFast/SD). It is not a separate recording option, but rather a data backup system, which is good.

What it does not do is allow recording to just the SSD, as you need to have either SD or CFast media in the camera beforemthe record button will work. The SSD drive lacks its own record button, as in the Shuttle or Video Assist. The Pro has a selectable recording media internally, and must have its own record trigger signal/function that is output the SDI to the SSD dock, which is perhaps the difference between the Pro and the UM4.6, restricting the new SSD dick to just the Pro.

Thanks Tim for answering the questions about the SSD Dock that have been floating around.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Earl R. Thurston

  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 pm
  • Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 4:09 pm

Tim also mentions that the SSD cannot record the higher frame rates that the CFast can. They "hope" to be able to record up to 4K at 30 fps, which means it's not even capable of that yet.
Offline

Gavin_c_clark

  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 4:11 pm

Tim Schumann wrote:URSA Mini Pro at launch. Hoping to support the other Mini's in a firmware update in the coming months.


As a big ursa owner I've learnt to take any trade show info it with a pinch of salt.

As to whether this will be available for the other ursa minis, Tim from the camera development team did say they were hoping too, so we can hopefully remain hopeful

Maybe they'll ship on the same day as my turret upgrade ;)
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6975
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 4:53 pm

Do not get your hopes up, Tim did say the SSD Dock Recorder is for the Ursa Mini Pro only, the only hoping was about the SSD recorder's frame rate recording ability, that they were still working on.
Cheers
Last edited by Denny Smith on Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Earl R. Thurston

  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 pm
  • Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostSun Sep 17, 2017 5:29 pm

Something I found a bit puzzling -- Tim mentions that one of the benefits the SSD recorder will be that it will support higher capacity than the CFast cards. But if one can only record to CFast and SSD at the same time, what happens when the CFast card(s) get full? Would it stop recording to all of the media, meaning the extra SSD capacity is pointless? Or does it keep recording to the SSD after the CFast cards stop?

Something doesn't quite add up.
Next

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests