Page 3 of 4

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:41 pm
by Keith Babineaux
michaeldhead wrote:Bump - I looked for info about the SSD Dock but I couldn't find anything - has there been any news announced that I missed? Thank you!


viewtopic.php?f=2&t=64114

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:17 pm
by michaeldhead
Keith Babineaux wrote:
michaeldhead wrote:Bump - I looked for info about the SSD Dock but I couldn't find anything - has there been any news announced that I missed? Thank you!


viewtopic.php?f=2&t=64114


Thank you!

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:37 pm
by michaeldhead
Robert Niessner wrote:Slashcam's updated IBC2017 video is now online again:


Did he say that are "HOPING" to get 4k at 30 fps onto the SSD? Oi. That's...hhmmmm.... disappointing.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:47 pm
by Tim Schumann
As mentioned earlier in the thread there were multiple things in this interview which were incorrect and they did not have time to reshoot it in the end.

It depends on the SSD you have but 30p in 4K RAW should not be a problem.

We are certifying SSDs now on the SSD Recorder.

SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:23 am
by rick.lang
Angelbird 4TB SSD 570MB/s transfers, don’t know sustained video write speed though.

Great storage size for recording raw...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Ursa SSD Dock?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:55 pm
by Keith Babineaux
michaeldhead wrote:
Keith Babineaux wrote:
michaeldhead wrote:Bump - I looked for info about the SSD Dock but I couldn't find anything - has there been any news announced that I missed? Thank you!


viewtopic.php?f=2&t=64114


Thank you!



You're Welcome!

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:36 am
by Dennis Sørensen
rick.lang wrote:Angelbird 4TB SSD 570MB/s transfers, don’t know sustained video write speed though.

Great storage size for recording raw...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Yeah. I like Angelbird. They seem to know what is good. They use MLC memory which can sustain high write speeds.. not like the cheap SSDs that use MLC cache and when that fills up and goes over to TLC speed which is like 75MB/s :(

But.. My problem with having 4TB for recording is that, when you get home to the workstation, it needs to have like 20TB SSD workspace, as i often have multiple projects going at a time and often its over multiple days i record. So 2x projects times 4TBx2days = 16TB of footage i need to have on the editing desktop SSD. That's a lot! :shock:

SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 4:47 pm
by rick.lang
Dennis, my Pegasus2 R6 RAID could manage it, one project at a time. My old RAID (bought April 2016) is so yesterday. Today’s RAIDs are coming with up to 10TB drives so a Pegasus3 R8 is 80TB. Now that 4TB SSD doesn’t seem too daunting. Just add money.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:59 pm
by Dennis Sørensen
rick.lang wrote:Dennis, my Pegasus2 R6 RAID could manage it, one project at a time. My old RAID (bought April 2016) is so yesterday. Today’s RAIDs are coming with up to 10TB drives so a Pegasus3 R8 is 80TB. Now that 4TB SSD doesn’t seem too daunting. Just add money.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Making a 20TB SSD internal RAID solution (built into the desktop) is absolutly no problem. It's a matter of money ;)

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:35 pm
by rick.lang



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SSD drive

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:33 am
by Patrick Acum
Anyone have any idea of the actual date this is available? Its not listed on B&H or CVP.
Also, are the compatible drives listed for 4.6k recording, I can't find them on the site
Finally, as its using the SDI output - is there an SDI out on the unit for monitoring?

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:26 pm
by Pavel Lavrov
If you can’t find it on BMD website it’s probably not out yet. Just a hint.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:47 pm
by Patrick Acum
Ha! Yes, smarty pants, well thats my point, it IS on the BMD website, suggesting its available, but when you click on the buy now button, it takes you through to the resellers, who don't list it. See the problem?

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:31 pm
by Denny Smith
Which means it is either just starting distribution and/or the resellers have not ordered them yet. It takes several weeks to get a BM product after shipping has started. Adorama seems to get new BM products first in the US.
Cheers

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:03 pm
by Earl R. Thurston
Patrick Acum wrote:Finally, as its using the SDI output - is there an SDI out on the unit for monitoring?

That's been acknowledged as a "no" from BMD. The SSD Recorder takes over both the SDI input and output from the camera and uses them for data. There are no other SDI connectors on the SSD Recorder itself.

For monitoring, you would only be left with the 1080p viewfinder SDI interface up front.

Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:26 pm
by carlomacchiavello
Hi Guys,
yesterday i saw on website BMD that is avaible... but...
my 2 cent

Target : give to user a better storage option instead CFast that are too expansive for many users to shoot large shooting like raw uncompressed 4.6k

On market DiY : cfast to ssd adapter to use cfast slot and not waste sdi output, allow to use dual recording to record at best on dual solution.
Exist from since 19 months many diy solution that allow to inspire you in the right direction.

BMD solution : a box for SINGLE ssd (from what i can read on some on line shop and from bmd web photos) that i think cannot allow to record at maximum speed for raw uncompressed at faster fps (you need m2 and not sata ssd to reach that goal with single ssd), and waste 2x6G sdi... without an output 6g to monitor 4k focus.
Please tell me who thought this is a good solution.

to be honest, like ever, BMD do the good things at second shoot, like for bmcc, like for ursa (third/fourth shoot), video assist, and more... please think a different policy to develop product, many industry share with users the ideas and reach suggestions.

Actually exist many kind of cfast to sata thin but good cable, many way to box and power ssd from a simple battery or directly from camera, why do you produce a different solution that not give me a 6g out free? or a simple sdi out...

your thought?

SSD drive

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:28 pm
by rick.lang
And you lose the SDI In for timecode input. The XLR Audio is still available though to receive and record an audio channel with timecode.

Must take a good look at the BMD SSD option once I’m sure I can still use audio timecode. Now looking at the MixPre-10T with internal timecode so I may not have an issue.

Edit:
first the bad news...
The webpage only indicates support for the BMSSD module for the URSA Mini Pro. I know Tim Siddons’ interview said the same but I was hoping the final release of the SSD module would include the URSA Mini 4.6K too.

and now the good news...
Well that solves any issue I had with Timecode In on the URSA Mini 4.6K as it looks like the SDI In port is available after all.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:23 pm
by Tim Schumann
Rick the timecode in on all URSA Mini cameras is the bottom BNC connector for jamming timecode or permanently connecting external code. You do not lose access to this when you use the SSD recorder as the bottom connector is not used.

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:25 pm
by Archibaldo de la Cruz
Tim Schumann, whew!

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:34 pm
by Tim Schumann
Our 4.5 Software release for this is now live on our support site.

Re: Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:40 pm
by Dennis Sørensen
... maybe just not buy it if you don’t like it?..

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:02 am
by rick.lang
Tim Schumann wrote:Rick the timecode in on all URSA Mini cameras is the bottom BNC connector for jamming timecode or permanently connecting external code. You do not lose access to this when you use the SSD recorder as the bottom connector is not used.


Good grief! What a brain fart! Thanks, Tim, I say sheepishly.

Seriously. I don’t know what I was thinking the last couple of weeks when I was looking into timecode. I’ll try to do better, especially when the camera is right in front of me.

Next you’re going to tell me the BMSSD module will work on the URSA Mini 4.6K in a future firmware update, right?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:12 am
by Robert Dee
Just adding my voice as a 4.6k owner not wanting software updates to be kicked in the long grass because I don't have the latest camera. If it's possible for the mini to use the SSD module in later updates, as you guys suggest in your replies, why not now? Quickly dropping support for previous cameras on the release of new models is not the best way of maintaining customer loyalty.

Re: Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:44 am
by carlomacchiavello
Dennis Sørensen wrote:... maybe just not buy it if you don’t like it?..

developing is a difficult task, developers ever need feedback...

BMD grow fast and good with feedback from professionals' user, often developer is not a user, and not understand the real problem of video / movie production.
they decide to move from ssd to Cfast to follow other producers not be cause they not have space to manage ssd in the cameras, but...
Cfast are :
- more expansive than ssd (and most of bmd users are onbudget)
- not large storage than ssd (2 tb vs 512 cfast)
- less stable (a damage on a cell of cfast is worst than a damage on ssd cell)
- more difficult to recover data during accidentally deleting/formatting/damaging of data structure
- less avaible than ssd (i often shoot around the world and ssd is more avaible in ever computer shop, but not the certified cfast).

Cfast is not a good choise for me and i prefer to continue to use ssd.
Best was if mini SSD recorder V2 use M2ssd which is faster x3 common sata ssd and cost near common ssd. If they want to earn more money they can follow dji way, use a m2 ssd in a custom cage.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:36 am
by Tim Schumann
We are not dropping support... Not by a long shot.

I have mentioned on numerous threads on here that we would be launching initially for the Mini Pro and we are hoping to add support for the other Mini's as well but these things take time to implement.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:02 am
by Robert Dee
OK. Good to know. I'll be snapping one up when it becomes available.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:19 am
by Xtreemtec
From the new 4.5 FW Update
We are very happy to announce that Camera 4.5 Update is now available from our website as a free download.

Our URSA Mini Manual has been updated to include sections on the new URSA Mini SSD Recorder and URSA Mini Pro F Mount, both of which include installation instructions. Please note if you are intending to use the SSD Recorder with URSA Mini Pro you will need to update your camera to 4.5 for the SSD Recorder to work with it.

As with our previous 4.x releases we recommend backing up all of your presets and LUTs to SD card or CFast before updating you URSA Mini Pro. We also recommend carrying out Black Shading Calibration after the update which will only take a few seconds.

New features for URSA Mini SSD Recorder
This reads like"New features for URSA Mini" But when you read it twice you find out that it only applies to the SSD recorder..

• Added RAW & ProRes record capability to SSD Recorder.
• Added playback capability from SSD Recorder.
• Added SDI and SSD status LED indicators.
• Added ability to use 1TB, 2TB and 4TB SSD’s.

New features for URSA Mini Pro 4.6K

• Added support for URSA Mini SSD Recorder.
• Added user interface information for SSD Recorder in media status page.
• Lowers SDI output latency to less than 1 frame for live production.
• Lowers LCD monitoring latency.
• Added Program Audio option for prioritising return audio in headset.
• Improved support for B4 lenses.
• Fixed focus control on Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 STM and USM lenses.
• Fixed iris control on Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM zoom lens.
• Fixed bug where audio levels reset after power cycling.
• Fixed bug where lens change was not recognised in metadata if powered off.
• Updated URSA Mini Manual to include SSD Recorder and F Mount instructions.

This update is available on our camera support site now.

We will be adding our list of recommended SSD's to our support site shortly and updating it regularly as we test out more SSD's over the coming weeks.

Re: Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:25 am
by Xtreemtec
Yeah well but they did add support for up to 4TB SSD's... ;)

So will gain also a lot..

Re: Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 11:14 am
by carlomacchiavello
Xtreemtec wrote:Yeah well but they did add support for up to 4TB SSD's... ;)

So will gain also a lot..


I not seen it, i saw specific only on shop on line about BMD ssd recorder.
My biggest doubt is about single drive ssd, if i need dual cfast recording to capture 4.6k raw at fastest fps i doubt that a single sata ssd could support that transfer rate.
But i attend first review and second iteration of this tool, Bmd learn a lots from their first attemp, and develop better second wave :-D

Re: SSD drive

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:03 pm
by Patrick Acum
Tim Schumann wrote:Our 4.5 Software release for this is now live on our support site.


And you fixed the audio issue! Great, thanks for listening and the speedy fix!!

Re: Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:07 pm
by Xtreemtec
Well you might want to check the 4.5 FW update topic in this forum.. ;) viewtopic.php?f=2&t=65565
Quote:
new features for URSA Mini SSD Recorder

• Added RAW & ProRes record capability to SSD Recorder.
• Added playback capability from SSD Recorder.
• Added SDI and SSD status LED indicators.
• Added ability to use 1TB, 2TB and 4TB SSD’s.

Re: Blackmagic URSA Mini SSD Recorder ... bad design?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:14 pm
by carlomacchiavello
Xtreemtec wrote:Well you might want to check the 4.5 FW update topic in this forum.. ;) viewtopic.php?f=2&t=65565
Quote:
new features for URSA Mini SSD Recorder

• Added RAW & ProRes record capability to SSD Recorder.
• Added playback capability from SSD Recorder.
• Added SDI and SSD status LED indicators.
• Added ability to use 1TB, 2TB and 4TB SSD’s.


thanks a lot, i read that they updated the manual of ursa with new info about ssds recorder :-D
rhanks for info :-D

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:04 pm
by rick.lang
Very pleased to see support for 4TB SSDs. I don’t use a laptop in the field and always adjust my codec for the space I have in CFast2 cards and the record time I estimate I’ll need. Having 4TB cards completely frees one to use the best codecs at all times with the only limitation being the frame rate for 4.6K/4K captures.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:17 pm
by Dennis Sørensen
rick.lang wrote:Very pleased to see support for 4TB SSDs. I don’t use a laptop in the field and always adjust my codec for the space I have in CFast2 cards and the record time I estimate I’ll need. Having 4TB cards completely frees one to use the best codecs at all times with the only limitation being the frame rate for 4.6K/4K captures.


Well.. Yeah and your editing system storage space ;) :D

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:34 pm
by rick.lang
True, Dennis, that does call for consideration of how to manage so much data for the edit workstation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:24 pm
by Dennis Sørensen
rick.lang wrote:True, Dennis, that does call for consideration of how to manage so much data for the edit workstation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


EDIT: Wrong thread.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:25 pm
by Donnell Henry
Core Microsystems have the Ursa ssd recorder in stock. I just purchased mine.
https://www.coremicro.com/blackmagic-de ... d-recorder

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:43 pm
by Michael Odhiambo
So..... Since the firmware is out, SSD dock is shipping. What plans does BM have for unlocking 3rd party compatibility? So far, the info is.... this is an extension of either cfast/sd card recording. I have two 128 GB cfast2.0 cards, two 240 GB sandisk extreme pro SSD's, 1 TB Samsung evo SSD, two UMPros and two URSA4Kv1's. Which means, I still have to have the Cfast in the camera to record to the SSD. This device does not solve my immediate problem. Not a solution for me right now. (Unless I got the info wrong).

Tim, please advise if 3rd party vendors will have access to SDI protocols to allow them to write to their media. ie, Atomos/Odessey/Pixie can get the data and wrap it in DNG/Prores/DNx. That way, I can record to my Shogun without a cfast in the media slot simply by hitting record on the device. I don't see the video assists keeping up with the data rate ....unless its proress 422 formats on UHS II cards. The full rez HQ and 444 flavors push bandwidth beyond sustainable recording tolerances.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:40 am
by Dennis Sørensen
Michael Odhiambo wrote:So..... Since the firmware is out, SSD dock is shipping. What plans does BM have for unlocking 3rd party compatibility? So far, the info is.... this is an extension of either cfast/sd card recording. I have two 128 GB cfast2.0 cards, two 240 GB sandisk extreme pro SSD's, 1 TB Samsung evo SSD, two UMPros and two URSA4Kv1's. Which means, I still have to have the Cfast in the camera to record to the SSD. This device does not solve my immediate problem. Not a solution for me right now. (Unless I got the info wrong).

Tim, please advise if 3rd party vendors will have access to SDI protocols to allow them to write to their media. ie, Atomos/Odessey/Pixie can get the data and wrap it in DNG/Prores/DNx. That way, I can record to my Shogun without a cfast in the media slot simply by hitting record on the device. I don't see the video assists keeping up with the data rate ....unless its proress 422 formats on UHS II cards. The full rez HQ and 444 flavors push bandwidth beyond sustainable recording tolerances.


Why do you think you need the CFast in the camera to record to a SSD with the SSD recorder?

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:17 pm
by Michael Odhiambo
Dennis Sørensen wrote:
Michael Odhiambo wrote:So..... Since the firmware is out, SSD dock is shipping. What plans does BM have for unlocking 3rd party compatibility? So far, the info is.... this is an extension of either cfast/sd card recording. I have two 128 GB cfast2.0 cards, two 240 GB sandisk extreme pro SSD's, 1 TB Samsung evo SSD, two UMPros and two URSA4Kv1's. Which means, I still have to have the Cfast in the camera to record to the SSD. This device does not solve my immediate problem. Not a solution for me right now. (Unless I got the info wrong).

Tim, please advise if 3rd party vendors will have access to SDI protocols to allow them to write to their media. ie, Atomos/Odessey/Pixie can get the data and wrap it in DNG/Prores/DNx. That way, I can record to my Shogun without a cfast in the media slot simply by hitting record on the device. I don't see the video assists keeping up with the data rate ....unless its proress 422 formats on UHS II cards. The full rez HQ and 444 flavors push bandwidth beyond sustainable recording tolerances.


Why do you think you need the CFast in the camera to record to a SSD with the SSD recorder?


Initial threads indicated that the SSD recorder does not have a trigger. And would depend on the SD/Cfast to be in the card.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:20 pm
by Earl R. Thurston
Tim Schumann has already clarified that you do not have to have an SD or CFast card inserted to use the SSD:

Tim Schumann wrote:Yes you can record to it without an SD or Cfast card in the camera.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:27 pm
by Earl R. Thurston
Also, as mentioned on page 164 of the URSA Mini Manual:

URSA Mini Manual wrote:When URSA Mini SSD Recorder is connected and an SSD is loaded, the recorder takes over from URSA Mini Pro 4.6K's number '2' storage slot...This means that recording, playback and storage management is exactly the same for SSDs as it is for CFast or SD cards


You would shoot to the SSD as if you were shooting to slot number 2, but you're using SSD media rather than SD or CFast.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:40 pm
by Xtreemtec
Michael Odhiambo wrote:Tim, please advise if 3rd party vendors will have access to SDI protocols to allow them to write to their media. ie, Atomos/Odessey/Pixie can get the data and wrap it in DNG/Prores/DNx.

I doubt this will ever happen. As they set the video chipset in a mode that allows a databus mode.

Not sure if hardware like atomos is even compatible as it is a databus now.. It does not resemble anything that looks like video data.. If you cut off all packeting info for video you can create a faster databus to read write some raw bits..

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:29 am
by Michael Odhiambo
Earl R. Thurston wrote:Also, as mentioned on page 164 of the URSA Mini Manual:

URSA Mini Manual wrote:When URSA Mini SSD Recorder is connected and an SSD is loaded, the recorder takes over from URSA Mini Pro 4.6K's number '2' storage slot...This means that recording, playback and storage management is exactly the same for SSDs as it is for CFast or SD cards


You would shoot to the SSD as if you were shooting to slot number 2, but you're using SSD media rather than SD or CFast.


Thanks for the clarification.
I should read the manual in the future.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:32 am
by Michael Odhiambo
Xtreemtec wrote:
Michael Odhiambo wrote:Tim, please advise if 3rd party vendors will have access to SDI protocols to allow them to write to their media. ie, Atomos/Odessey/Pixie can get the data and wrap it in DNG/Prores/DNx.

I doubt this will ever happen. As they set the video chipset in a mode that allows a databus mode.

Not sure if hardware like atomos is even compatible as it is a databus now.. It does not resemble anything that looks like video data.. If you cut off all packeting info for video you can create a faster databus to read write some raw bits..


Woooooow. I didn't get half the stuff you said, thats above my layman understanding. but I get it- it's next to impossible.
Cool. Thanks
And the previous reply answered my question.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:11 am
by Howard Roll
Both the Odyssey and the Shogun are capable of raw/data recording, the Pix is not. Convergent design charges a pretty hefty price tag for the various raw licenses. Whether or not BM will unlock/license the raw data protocols for their competitors is anyone's guess, mine would be no.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:30 am
by Stefan Vrachev
Hello guys.
I am thinking of buying the Ursa mini pro with the SSD module.
Just one question. They give info that it can record 4,6K RAW but is it possible of achieving 4,6K RAW 60fps?
This is important since it will influence my purchase decision.
Thank you

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:12 am
by Tim Schumann
4.6K 60fps in RAW 3:1 or RAW 4:1 should be possible so a single SSD without a worry.

In Lossless RAW most of the faster SSD's max out at a bit above 40 frames per second so you will have to use the 'Record RAW to 2 cards' feature to hit 60p Lossless which will allow you to bounce between the SSD and a CFast card to achieve that data rate.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:16 am
by rick.lang
Stefan, would you accept compressed raw 3:1 (described as visually lossless) which is about half the data rate of the uncompressed raw?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:35 am
by Stefan Vrachev
rick.lang wrote:Stefan, would you accept compressed raw 3:1 (described as visually lossless) which is about half the data rate of the uncompressed raw?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Rick, I would accept it. I am not so hung up on shooting the BEST OF THE BEST RAW every time. Most of the time probably will be shooting ProRes.
But nonetheless am researching what can be achieved with all the options... Would love to buy good CFast2.0 cars but the price....

Thank you for the response.