Page 4 of 4

SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:19 pm
by rick.lang
Looks like Tim has answered your question and thrown in a tasty morsel. I had assumed that you could only use CFast 2 or SSD with the SSD plugged in via the SDI. Tim it appears has just said, the ‘Use Two Cards to Record’ option will achieve uncompressed raw 4.6K 60 fps. Alternate frames will be written to the SSD and the single CFast 2 card.

If you have no CFast 2 card in Slot 1, then you can get to 60 fps if you record in raw 3:1 on the SSD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:20 pm
by Tim Schumann
Yes the SSD Recorder is able to spill record across onto CFast or SD card when the SSD fills up.

You are also able to do dual card mode with a CFast card or SD card in slot 1. Of course if you are shooting 4.6K Lossless RAW you should do this with one of the CFast cards on our supported for RAW list.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:44 pm
by Jason R. Johnston
I have an old SanDisk Extreme card I use in my original BMCC. Will this work in the UMP SSDR? I mostly plan to do 2K ProRes in 24p and maybe some undercranking, but it’d be nice to also do 3:1 or 4:1 compressed raw sometimes.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:24 pm
by Tim Schumann
Yes it should Jason. We are in the process of certifying a bunch of the older SSD's at the moment.

Newer ones on the list will obviously have higher data rates possible and some of them are much more robust but yes the older SSD's should work as well as long as you are happy to work within the limitations of the data rate that the SSD you have can manage.

There is also a nice little pressure plate in the SSD Recorder's slot design so that it holds the SSD firmly no matter what width of SSD you are using.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:11 am
by Jason R. Johnston
Nice! I was wondering about the grip on the SSD, actually. Thanks, Tim!

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:20 pm
by George Simillides
Just received my ssd recorder. Disappointed that I have to give up the weather seal around the power connection to use the recorder. Why a rubber seal only one the v mount plate and not on the ssd recorder?
Also some even basic assembly instructions would be nice!

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:54 pm
by Tim Schumann
Assembly instructions are in the manual which you get as a PDF when you install the Camera 4.5 Update.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:33 am
by Michael Odhiambo
Interesting alternative for dual record mode and keep your SDI in and outs. Great solution for studio work.



Now if they could improve on the design and have a ribbon based break out cable to allow for a neater build. The cables sticking out are not cool.

SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:34 pm
by rick.lang
CheesyCam needs to correct their error on the major con of the BMD solution. He states that you can’t do dual card recurring with the BMSSD solution. But you can do dual card if you have a CFast2 card in slot 1 as the BMSSD occupies slot 2.

The CCTech solution does look good if you can manage shooting with the monitor door open or ajar. Might be awkward when you are shooting while your eye is glued to the BMVF as I like to do.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:42 pm
by Tim Schumann
Yes there are numerous fairly large factual errors in the video.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:49 am
by Jason R. Johnston
Yeah, I don’t know about that. To put it simply, BMD’s solution looks like the safest...and I mean that in pretty much every possible way.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:44 pm
by Keith Babineaux
I'm waiting to see if they even can make the SSD Module work on the original Ursa Mini 4.6K. If it's possible, that would be great! I'm patiently waiting......

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:18 pm
by Denny Smith
Depending on how the SSD module is setup internally, it should be able to record ProRes at least from the UM cameras. The issue is getting firmware to allow the camera to talk to the SSD to set its recording format, i.e. ProRes or mirror the camera settings?
Cheers

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:21 pm
by George Simillides
Anyone else with an ssd recorder can confirm if it’s normal for the UMP screen to go black for 2-3 seconds when you switch from raw to prores?

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:31 pm
by Denny Smith
Sounds like the camera has to reboot when changing, which is why the screen is going black.
Cheers

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:35 pm
by Kevin Norris
You are correct. 2-3 seconds of black when switching from CFAST to BMSSD drive. I’ve used my bmssd drive for over a week now. On thing that’s bothers me too is the the SSD drive is still drawing power when the camera power switch is in the off position. The status light stays on as long as a battery is on the camera.

Re: SSD MODULE AVAILABILITY?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:45 pm
by Denny Smith
Of course it won’t, since the SSD Module is sandwiched between the camera body and battery (pre-power switch in the circuit) and the SSD Module does not have its own battery, it will be drawing some power when the camera is shut down, but not very much I would think, kind of like the ENG camera “standby” status. The only way to power it completely down is to remove the battery (power source). The SSD module is passing power front he battery to the camera, so the camera power switch will not change the power status on the SSD.
Cheers