Sound

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

mario

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:28 pm

Sound

PostMon Apr 01, 2013 8:28 am

I am having some trouble to get the best sound recording out of my BMCC (and yes audio meters would be good).

I tried a Rode NTG-2 (http://www.rodemic.com/mics/ntg-2), a Sennheiser ME 4 (http://www.sennheiser.co.uk/uk/home_en. ... -g3_021112) and a Rode Stereo Video Mic Pro (http://www.rodemic.com/mics/stereovideomicpro).

To monitor the levels I am using a Cineroid EVF and also a plugged in headphone.

The only mic I get decent levels from is the Stereo Video Mic Pro, the other two are way to quiet.

When I run the mics through the Zoom H4n and use the line out of the Zoom back into the BMCC I get good levels.


I thought the NTG2 or the ME4 could be plugged right into the BMCC. Looks like another bolt on device required such as the JuicedLink (http://www.juicedlink.com/blackmagic-cinema-camera).
Offline
User avatar

Peter J. DeCrescenzo

  • Posts: 2205
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: Sound

PostMon Apr 01, 2013 3:25 pm

http://www.peterdv.com
http://HereForTheWeather.wordpress.com
Offline

mario

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:28 pm

Re: Sound

PostTue Apr 02, 2013 6:50 am

Hi - Sorry should have been more accurate: I am not just not getting levels, I can hardly hear any sound regardless of what transitivity I select.

Has anybody gotten a NTG2 working directly plugged into the BMCC?
Offline
User avatar

Jim DeLuca

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:53 am
  • Location: Toronto

Re: Sound

PostTue Apr 02, 2013 9:30 pm

mario wrote:Hi - Sorry should have been more accurate: I am not just not getting levels, I can hardly hear any sound regardless of what transitivity I select.

Has anybody gotten a NTG2 working directly plugged into the BMCC?


How are you powering the NTG-2? The blackmagic doesn't provide phantom power, so you'd have to power the mic with a battery. I'm sure you've already tried this, but just in case!
Offline

EVOSHOOTER

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:34 pm

Re: Sound

PostTue Apr 02, 2013 10:54 pm

change the option line to mic and adjust the levels in UltraScope , i think 80% to 90% it will be fine, thats the best you can do now !!
Offline

Darryl Gregory

  • Posts: 939
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:49 am
  • Location: LA

Re: Sound

PostWed Apr 03, 2013 2:08 am

I use a Denecke PS1A for phantom power on the Rode NTG-2,
Since the AA battery will not give you True phantom power and allow full volume recording
from the NTG-2.

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/all-things- ... dings.html
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2291
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: Sound

PostWed Apr 03, 2013 2:37 am

I did my (sadly) brief shoot with the BMCC (loaner) using an Audio Technica mic. I used a Sound Devices MixPre-D and set the outputs to line, the BMCC's input setting to line and a level of 80%, then used the MixPre-D for gain. I think I should have given it a bit more gain, but other than that the quality of the sound was excellent.

I think with a JuicedLink you'd use mic level instead of line, and a level setting of 25% on the BMCC, then use the JuicedLink to add gain.
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
HP Spectre x360 Kaby Lake-R w/ 1080Ti eGPU in RazerCore
Offline

Dennis Nomer

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Sound

PostWed Apr 03, 2013 3:29 am

Those are three very different mics.

The Video Mic Pro is just a broad-focused stereo mic. It is only going to be good for recording a room sound. Most any mic will suffice for that. You could use it to record music if you were somewhat close to the stage or performers, as it will provide a stereo field. However, for video work you usually need a shotgun. You often need to capture some aspects of the location / room, but you want to limit the effect of the room or location. The shotgun does that, depending on the distance. The shotgun has reach, so you can keep it out of the shot.

The Me 4 might be a nice mic, but it is a lav, and I have not tried it. With lavs the problem is keeping them out of the shot and dealing with clothing / rustling noise when the talent moves. They tend to minimize location sounds by being very close to the talent's mouth, so they typically do not capture much room ambience.

I have a Rode NTG-2. I agree with Darryl -- I don't know why you would want to operate it from that little battery. Even powering from a true 48-volt phantom power, I don't like it very much, as it has a pretty wide pattern for a shotgun, and its S/N does not compete well against some other shotguns. Even so, you could probably use it if you want to spend less on a shotgun. With a preamp like a RM222 (supplying full 48V phantom power) or maybe that new BMC366, you should be able to get decent audio out of the NTG-2.
Dennis Nomer

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Thomas Koveleskie and 17 guests