BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Federico Grosso

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:59 pm

BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 1:07 pm

Hi guys, this is my first post and I'm here to see if someone can help me with this. I come form the photography world and I'm starting to shoot video now.
I have a BM Micro cinema camera and I use the Atomos Ninja 2, when I try to change to 60fps the Atomos lose signal so I can't use it for monitoring. I have to connect the BMMCC to my TV change to 30fps and it gets signal again. Does anyone knows if I can solve this? Anyone else has this problem?
Thanks a lot.
Offline

Kristian Lam

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 559
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 10:45 pm

I don't believe the Ninja 2 supports 1080p60.
Offline

Ryan Payne

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:48 am

Re: BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 10:51 pm

Hey there! As the Atomos line are also recorders unfortunately they have strict limits on what the product can handle. As the ninja 2 is lower down the line it isn't powerful enough to record 60p but they also made it so it can't view 60p, I guess to avoid confusion. So as soon as you switch to anything over 30p the monitor will lose signal.

You'd need to move up to the more expensive models and make sure it can record 60p or find a monitor capable of it.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 7084
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 11:09 pm

I think part of the issue is old recorders like the Ninja 2, have an older HDMI port that does not support anything above 1080p30, 10-bit, 4.2.2 Video signal, so the Ninja Monitor is not going to display, what it can not receive. Many monitors from the same Ezra have the same issue, including the Zacuto original EVF Pro. I ran into this on this EVF/Monitor. Only newer monitors are able,to support the higher data bit rates of 1080p50/60. As long as you do not set the Micro to 1080p50/60it should work fine at the ,owner data rates with the Ninja recorder.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Federico Grosso

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:59 pm

Re: BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 11:18 pm

Thanks a lot guys. I have so much to learn! Now I feel a lil dumb by not doing the proper research before buying.
Thanks again
Offline

Ryan Payne

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:48 am

Re: BM Micro + Atomos Ninja 2 / 60fps not working

PostTue Nov 28, 2017 12:47 am

Federico Grosso wrote:Thanks a lot guys. I have so much to learn! Now I feel a lil dumb by not doing the proper research before buying.
Thanks again


Depending where you got it and how long ago you may be able to get a full refund, some places are good like that when you've simply mistakenly bought the wrong product.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Davi Silveira and 18 guests