Help with lenses

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Mahesh Radhakrishnan

Help with lenses

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 4:52 pm

Hello,
I recently bought a Blackmagic Pocket Cinema camera. Being a total beginner to MFT mount and bmpcc, I would appreciate any suggestions for a buying a good lens to begin with.
I intend to use bmpcc for shooting mostly music videos , to be published on youtube & vimeo.
So far I have been using Nikon D5100 and have two prime lenses (Nikkor F 1.8 35mm ($130) and Nikkor F1.4 50mm ($420).

I am a little confused as to what lens to buy.
Some friends are suggesting me to buy the Panasonic 12-35mm f2.8 lens ($800 approx) which is a native MFT.
Some others suggesting me to buy Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 Nikon with Metabones speed booster for Nikon.(Total of $1200 approx).
Some are suggesting Nokton primes.

My budget is around $1000 and I don't mind spending a bit more provided it gives good results.

Sorry for such a generic newbie question, what would suggest in my case?

Thanks for your time,
Mahesh

Denny Smith

Re: Help with lenses

PostTue Dec 12, 2017 2:40 am

A MFT native Zoom is going to be much quicker to use for filming something like a music video. Primes can be a,so used, but are a little more limiting and require multiple takes at different focal length lenses depending on what you are trying to do.

Adding a Speed Booster and large zoom like the Sigma 18-35 on a small camera like the Pocket defeats its compact size design. Might as well shoot with a DSLR, if you want big zooms, with limited range.

The Panny 12-35 f/2.8 gives a better zoom range, is fairly fast focusing, get the new Ver 2 model. This lens will require refocusing with most Zoom changes, as it and the Sigma are not really parfocal.