New User

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
MrAdamJay

New User

PostWed Apr 17, 2013 7:24 pm

Hi ,

I am a professional photographer and want to look into doing some independent film making as well. I have been reading up on the BlackMagic cameras and really like the sound of them. Would people suggest that they are a good camera to start on ? Obviously I know I need to learn a lot about the process of it but we all have to start somewhere.

Would love to hear your feedback

Adam

Liam Kennedy

Re: New User

PostWed Apr 17, 2013 9:07 pm

Recommend you post in the "Cinematography" section of the forum (although "Getting Started" sounds about right... I think you'll find more eyes on your question over there).
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3

Christine Peterson

PostWed Apr 17, 2013 9:59 pm

Moved to Cinematography...
Christine Peterson

(Previously Community Relations Manager for Blackmagic Design)

AdrianSierkowski

PostWed Apr 17, 2013 10:08 pm

For $1000 bucks it's hard to go wrong with the pocket camera. It's also an MFT mount so you can adapt it for almost any lens. It's S16mm sized sensor will help you without getting too shallow of a DoF-- so you can pull focus on your own-- and open up the options of the myriad of cinema lenses out there in various mounts via adapters.
Wish there was such a capable camera when i was first tooling 'round for such a low price.
Adrian Sierkowski
Director of Photography
http://www.adriansierkowski.com
adrian@adriansierkowski.com

Theodore Prentice

PostWed Apr 17, 2013 10:18 pm

Do any of the cameras you use to shoot professional photos shoot video?
If so, Id start there, learn the basics, then move up.

The workflow of the currently available Cinema Camera can be daunting to even a seasoned professional.