Formatting a SSD Drive

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dolphinnose

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:03 am

Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 1:21 am

It appears very simple but could not figure how. How do I format the SSD drive? I just got my BMCC camera from Adorama (Ordered yesterday and got it today). I got intel 240gb SSD.
I popped the SSD into the Cam and cam says NO SSD. So I figured I need to format it.
But I am stumbled as to how? CanI use http://www.amazon.com/Uspeed-External-Docking-Station-Chipsets/dp/B005UA3I72/ref=sr_1_13?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1366333967&sr=1-13&keywords=ssd+sata+connector ?
Or any other solutions?
TIA
Subbu
Offline

Brian Mills

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:56 pm

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 1:39 am

On a Mac:

Connect the hard drive via a dock, then in Utilities folder of Applications go to Disk Utility, select that drive and select Erase. THis will format it (select "Mac OS Extended - Journaled" as the format).

I can't speak to PC.

Shame you can't do this in camera.

They say you are to reformat the drive before every shoot to avoid dropout issues.
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 3:20 am

There are instructions for formatting the drive on both Mac and PC in the manual.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 665
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 4:03 am

The info in the manual is a bit outdated for PC-users as since firmware 1.2 you can format your SSD to exFAT, so there is no need for macdrive anymore.

What I got for on the road is a cheap icybox-USB3-SSD-connector (RaidSonic Icy Box IB-AC603 2.5Zoll SATA), connect it to your pc and format to exFAT as you would do with any external HD. Done.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 4:06 am

gmf wrote:The info in the manual is a bit outdated for PC-users as since firmware 1.2 you can format your SSD to exFAT, so there is no need for macdrive anymore.


The latest manual includes this information on Page 27.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 665
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 4:26 am

Chris Hocking wrote:
gmf wrote:The info in the manual is a bit outdated for PC-users as since firmware 1.2 you can format your SSD to exFAT, so there is no need for macdrive anymore.


The latest manual includes this information on Page 27.


Oh, guess I had an old copy lying around then!
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Frank Glencairn

  • Posts: 1570
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:07 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 7:07 am

Just for the record, you can always format your drives in a Ninja or Samurai.
Both devices even play back the ProRes and DnxHD files, by the way.
http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

Set your zebras to 100%, ETTR and you're golden - and NO, you can't use TB as output for an external monitor, and you can't download the footy via TB ether.
Offline
User avatar

adamroberts

  • Posts: 4496
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:27 am
  • Location: England, UK

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 7:16 am

Frank Glencairn wrote:Just for the record, you can always format your drives in a Ninja or Samurai.
Both devices even play back the ProRes and DnxHD files, by the way.


Good tip Frank!

:-)
Offline

sgierth

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:34 am
  • Location: Oberwil-Lieli, Switzerland

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 8:56 am

Hi Dolphinnose,

I am on a PC (Win7-64bit) and us a simple HD/SSD docking station with USB3.0 to connect my SanDiskExtremes 480GB to the PC.

Once the connection is established, you open windows explorer and right-click on the drive letter of the SSD. This gives you "format" options (NTFS or ex-FAT) I believe - choose ex-FAT. Then you bring the formatted SSD "online".

Alternatively, you can open the Computer Administration menu and do above steps from there (this is how I do it).

To remove the SSD physically from the dock, you bring it "offline" prior to pulling it out of the dock.

Let me know if this works for you!
Offline

dolphinnose

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:03 am

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri Apr 19, 2013 5:49 pm

Thanks for all the responses.
sgierth - Thank you. That helps a lot. I just bought Sabrent dock from B&H. Will give it a go and see...

Thanks again.
Offline

theoretical.sounds

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 12:37 am

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostFri May 10, 2013 12:41 am

Easy fix four Windows users:

No option to exFAT formatting your SSD?

Try this:
0. Open a command prompt by typing cmd into the Start/search box, right clicking and running as admin
1. Type format g: /FS:exFAT and then Enter to begin formatting the G drive as exFAT

Replace g with the correct drive letter of your external drive.
To see all other options, type format /? and press Enter.

-theoretical.sounds :ugeek:
Offline

Slothrop

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:48 am

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostTue Jun 04, 2013 1:52 am

My BMCC does not recognize my Sandisk formatted with exfat.
Although formatted with HFS + macdrive works.
But I would preferably like to use exfat!
I formatted using the command line, even though the option "128kb allocation size" did not work (gave me a "wrong argument"). So I left this option. My system is win7 64, 1.3.1 firmware, sandisk extreme 480
Has anyone else this problem?
Sorry for my bad english.
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1433
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostTue Jun 04, 2013 3:53 am

IF you're on a mac, use the Disk Utility to format. exFat and 128Kb is right. Works for me and my Sandisk Xtreme 480...not sure why the command line approach isn't working...
Offline

ThroxxOfVron

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:37 pm

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostWed Jun 19, 2013 1:33 am

Any recommendations for an SSD Dock for connecting the discs to a MacBook Pro via Thunderbolt or USB 3.0?

-I'll want to format and access Sandisk Extreme SSD 480GB 2.5" SATA 6 Gb/s.

Thanks.
John Ralston -Throxx Of Vron
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1433
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostWed Jun 19, 2013 1:58 am

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/ ... No=3516746

This is what I use. Works perfectly.
Offline

Milen Mladenov

  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:14 am

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostWed Jun 19, 2013 10:14 am

Slothrop wrote:My BMCC does not recognize my Sandisk formatted with exfat.
Although formatted with HFS + macdrive works.
But I would preferably like to use exfat!
I formatted using the command line, even though the option "128kb allocation size" did not work (gave me a "wrong argument"). So I left this option. My system is win7 64, 1.3.1 firmware, sandisk extreme 480
Has anyone else this problem?
Sorry for my bad english.


PC or Mac? I am on a PC and with Windows 7 and the exFAT option works fine!
Offline

marcos.jdss

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:56 pm

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostTue Oct 15, 2013 6:03 pm

is exfat as good as hfs+? do everytime I copy the files from the ssd disk to computer I have to format the disk?
Offline

Ed Yago

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: Formatting a SSD Drive

PostTue Oct 15, 2013 7:10 pm

Here's a question to the Windows folks:

How do you induce TRIM on an exFAT drive when TRIM/Optimization is only supported on NTFS? (Not including using O&O to enable a scheduled optimization on exFAT).

I have a convoluted round-trip to induce it but I was wondering if there was a better way?

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darko Djerich, Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests