Editing 3:1 RAW

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

JacobSchuhle

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:37 pm

Editing 3:1 RAW

PostThu May 17, 2018 7:35 am

I've recently shot a few commercial projects RAW, and would like to start shooting my own work in the same way (3:1/4:1 compressed). I'm currently using quite an old MacBook Pro to edit (with Resolve 15).

What would I need to upgrade to feasibly edit 4.6k RAW 3:1/4:1? Am I looking at editing on proxies whatever I cut on, or would a newer iMac/MBP be capable of pushing the footage around in realtime?

Thanks
Offline

Liam O'Brien

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:30 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Editing 3:1 RAW

PostThu May 17, 2018 12:04 pm

Hey Jacob,

I recently upgraded from an early 2013 MBP (2.7GHZ, 500GB SSD, 16GB RAM, GeForce GT650) to a late 2017 iMac 5K (4.2GHZ, 1TB SSD, 32GB RAM, 8GB GPU) for the same reasons. The new iMac can playback an edited timeline of 4.6K RAW 3:1/4:1 in real time at full resolution, including footage that has had basic colour correction. However, once you begin heavily colour grading clips the playback begins to lag and I'm having to bypass the corrections in the editing tab - which has been made easy/possible with Resolve 15. Furthermore, working with such large file sizes the 1TB internal SSD isn't very suitable and I'm having to store the files and edit them from external SSDs (expensive). Just a couple of things to consider before making your purchase.
Artist working with video.
UM46EF
Canon EF 16-35mm f2.8, 40mm f2.8, 85mm f1.8, 100mm f2.8 Macro
27" iMac with Retina 5K, 4.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 32GB 2400MHz DDR4 RAM, 1TB SSD, Radeon Pro 580 with 8GB VRAM
Offline

JacobSchuhle

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:37 pm

Re: Editing 3:1 RAW

PostThu May 17, 2018 3:42 pm

Hi Liam, thanks. I've actually just moved into a new office and one of the other residents has an iMac Pro; seems to run fine. Wish the MacBook Pro would be capable of it though; I like having one machine.

Footage wise I was planning on buying a couple of external SSD drives (I typically don't cut anything big myself anyway, just shorter projects), so I could probably get away with a couple of 2TB drives (which aren't that expensive anymore).

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Leon Benzakein and 17 guests