Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Adam Silver

  • Posts: 191
  • Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:12 pm

Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 6:57 am

For those of you wanting BRAW support in Final Cut Pro X, you can use this feedback form: http://www.apple.com/feedback/finalcutpro.html

Adam
Offline

Carlos Garcia-Diaz

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostSat Sep 29, 2018 3:24 pm

Is there a feedback form for ProRes Raw support in BM cameras :D
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 904
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostSat Sep 29, 2018 5:16 pm

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/

E-mail them and request that both Resolve and BM cameras consider supporting ProRes RAW. If they get enough people to ask, I'm sure they'll consider it.
>>Kays Alatrakchi
Filmmaker based in Los Angeles, CA
www.mbkproductions.com
Resolve 16, Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), i7 8700k, 32Gb DDR4 RAM, Dual GTX 1080ti, Decklink Mini Monitor, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 631
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 8:07 am

Carlos Garcia-Diaz wrote:Is there a feedback form for ProRes Raw support in BM cameras :D

uhm... why?
why do you ask to have a raw codec that no software can read correctly (with the except of fcpx) and no one color correction software can advantage about a closed codec that cannot read when you can write with new blackmagic cameras a free open codec like braw which is right now avaible, and readable from Davinci, Nuke, Scratch and every software developer can read and access correctly to every bit of data.

Adding braw to final cut = zero cost.
Adding Prores raw to every software mean cost of license to Apple, that mean cost to users...

the only reason to have Prores raw is only if i can convert from raw X to Prores Raw, this is possible from 2005 with Cineform raw, but is not possibile with any anothe raw tool. I dubt that is possible with braw be cause is half debayered in camera and half in software, but never say never.
Offline

Adam Silver

  • Posts: 191
  • Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:12 pm

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 10:56 am

Damn it! You guys hijacked my post! lol
Offline

MontgomerySutton

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:28 pm

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 3:37 pm

Submitted! Now that both my URSA Mini Pro & Pocket 4K will be using Blackmagic RAW, it's bye-bye FCPX until they add support. I still have a slight FCP preference over Resolve but if they don't fix it soon my habits & preferences may shift! Maybe if we can flood them today it will light a fire under Apple... Unlikely, but worth the shot.
Montgomery Sutton
Producer, Cinematographer
montgomery@lupoblu.com

lupo blu, LLC (www.lupoblu.com)
Salt Pillar Productions (www.saltpillarproductions.com)

URSA Mini 4.6K | Red Scarlet Dragon | Canon C100 mkII | BMPCC (x2)
Offline
User avatar

joe12south

  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:14 pm
  • Location: Nashville, TN
  • Real Name: Joseph Moore

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 4:25 pm

BRAW may put the nail in FCPX coffin for me. I've done my last two projects in Resolve, and while the performance and UI isn't as slick as FCPX, I've gotten it to a workable state. Avoiding a round-trip to get to the color tools is pretty damn convenient, too.)

And if I switch to Resolve, then there becomes less and less of a reason to pay the Apple premium for hardware compared to a more powerful dedicated Resolve workstation built on cheap Linux or Windows hardware.

All this is to say that if Apple gets into a pissing match over ProRes RAW, at least for this guy, they're gonna lose.
Pocketluts: Purpose-built LUT system for the Black Magic Design Pocket Cinema Camera 4K
http://www.pocketluts.com/
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2528
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 6:01 pm

I've made the switch almost entirely to Resolve now... it's very user friendly, and I'm really digging Fusion even more now that I'm getting some time to do some compositing in it for a microshort. :)
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
Alienware M15 Hexacore + Radeon VII + Razer Core
HP Spectre x360 Kaby Lake-R
Offline

Chris Chiasson

  • Posts: 495
  • Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:32 pm

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 6:19 pm

I hope support come to Final Cut now that the Pocket is getting Braw. Though Resolve is nice, it doesn't run as well as Final Cut on my MacBook Pro.
Offline
User avatar

David Chapman

  • Posts: 431
  • Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:05 pm
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 6:49 pm

So far, I’ve finished 3 projects shooting BRAW, one of which included a set of 14 interviews. Shot all of them at 12:1 (which was smaller than ProRes Proxy), then exported them all from Resolve at ProRes Proxy and edited in FCPX with these “proxies” and reconnected back to the BRAW later.

I would LOVE native BRAW support in FCPX and the ability to generate the sidecar files (and read them) within FCPX (and auto-generate them in Resolve as well). Until then, I’ll just be transcoding my own proxies in Resolve.
David Chapman
Just another creative dude with a camera.
Offline

Adam Silver

  • Posts: 191
  • Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:12 pm

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostWed Mar 06, 2019 12:36 pm

Hi David,

I'd love to know your workflow, step by step, if at all possible. Thanks so much for any info.

Adam

David Chapman wrote:So far, I’ve finished 3 projects shooting BRAW, one of which included a set of 14 interviews. Shot all of them at 12:1 (which was smaller than ProRes Proxy), then exported them all from Resolve at ProRes Proxy and edited in FCPX with these “proxies” and reconnected back to the BRAW later.

I would LOVE native BRAW support in FCPX and the ability to generate the sidecar files (and read them) within FCPX (and auto-generate them in Resolve as well). Until then, I’ll just be transcoding my own proxies in Resolve.
Offline

Ryan Sulak

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:11 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Sulak

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Jun 25, 2019 7:16 pm

Yes David I would also like to know this workflow as I am looking to figure out a Resolve import >> Premiere edit>> Resolve color >> AE vfx workflow and I am unsure how to approach this! Thanks
Offline
User avatar

antoniojr

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:49 am
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Antonio José

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostMon Jul 01, 2019 9:14 pm

David Chapman wrote:So far, I’ve finished 3 projects shooting BRAW, one of which included a set of 14 interviews. Shot all of them at 12:1 (which was smaller than ProRes Proxy), then exported them all from Resolve at ProRes Proxy and edited in FCPX with these “proxies” and reconnected back to the BRAW later.

I would LOVE native BRAW support in FCPX and the ability to generate the sidecar files (and read them) within FCPX (and auto-generate them in Resolve as well). Until then, I’ll just be transcoding my own proxies in Resolve.


It'll be great if you can share your workflow. I couldn't relink this proxies successfully into Davinci.
Offline
User avatar

Australian Image

  • Posts: 1908
  • Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:08 am
  • Real Name: Ray Pollanen

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostMon Jul 01, 2019 9:36 pm

I read about more and more film makers moving to Resolve and dumping Final Cut and Premiere, so the times they are a changing.
https://australianimage.com.au/
Offline

Jim Giberti

  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:03 am

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostMon Jul 01, 2019 9:55 pm

Since the debut of Braw and it's speed and ease we've changed to Resolve as our main NLE for everything.

DR is so much faster than when I used it previously. I can work on location on my MB Pro and it's as fast as ProRes optimized for FCPX. It took a few days to get comfortable with the interface but it really has evolved to a great and agile system.

I haven't gone to 16 yet because we have several projects still in production and I wouldn't be confident with a beta version for clients.

But spend a week with tutes (BM has all you need on their site) and you won't look back.

Braw is a game changer.
Online

Craig Seeman

  • Posts: 547
  • Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostMon Jul 01, 2019 10:20 pm

Just a wild hunch but we'll either hear about FCPX BRAW in November at Creative Summit or it's just not going to happen. Apple has to know this is going to hurt them. Not that FCPX sales are mission critical to Apple but using any other NLE opens the door to Windows versions. Not good timing for a company releasing a very expensive new Mac Pro.
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4655
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Jul 02, 2019 9:07 am

Point is you don’t need a very expensive workstation for BRAW ;-)

My decent iMac (non Pro) cuts through it like butter.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Jim Giberti

  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:03 am

Re: Blackmagic RAW in Final Cut Pro X

PostTue Jul 02, 2019 2:16 pm

Absolutely.

When we would shoot raw (CDNG) in the past we'd use Resolve to do the basic CC and then export as ProRes to cut in FCP which was much faster and easier for us.

With Braw and the evolution of DR it became a no brainer to stay in the Blackmagic universe from shoot through (nearly) final output. We still bring our final edit into FCPX to do any graphics because of Motion and our library of graphics plugins that aren't supported by DR.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Craig Seeman, MishaEngel, pnguyen720, ted ramasola and 22 guests