Do you need to have an attached lens?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

valleyguy

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:14 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Martin

Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 11:18 pm

I'm looking into buying the Blackmagic Pocket camera. Do you have to use an attached lens, or can you use it as is? I know an attached lens is best, but can you use it as basically a jazzed up cell phone camera.
Offline

Tristan Pemberton

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:07 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 11:40 pm

Sure thing, I reckon if Picasso was still alive he'd love the images you could capture like that.

I'd suggest you actually READ the product page before coming back and asking any more questions here.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... nemacamera
Director
Australia
www.flywirefilms.com
Offline

Chris Cronin

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 11:55 pm

valleyguy wrote:I'm looking into buying the Blackmagic Pocket camera. Do you have to use an attached lens, or can you use it as is? I know an attached lens is best, but can you use it as basically a jazzed up cell phone camera.

Yes, you need a lens. Otherwise all you've got is an exposed sensor behind the cap.
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 11:57 pm

That's not how cameras work. Even your cellphone camera has a lens attached.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 8996
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 3:36 am

Having lived in The Valley, I sincerely love that post and that handle.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 4:14 pm

This camera might just be a wee bit more advanced than what you need. Just sayin'....
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 5:27 pm

You can take a small pin and make a hole in the cover over the sensor (don't go too deep).

Under enough light with ISO 3200 you can shoot films with incredible depth of field then without any lens.

They will be a bit soft, though, but no chromatic aberrations at all, no distortions too.

Who needs a lens withs such a camera?
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Tristan Pemberton

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:07 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 10:16 pm

rick.lang wrote:Having lived in The Valley, I sincerely love that post and that handle.

Where is The Valley? Is that the one they were planning to build a multi-lane bypass around?
Director
Australia
www.flywirefilms.com
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9120
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 1:39 am

Do you need a lens attached.
Priceless, :lol:
I think the OP needs to read the manual...
Live the pinhole camera idea, but frilling a 1/4 inch hole and covering it with black cinefoil with a pin hole in it will work better. :roll:
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 8996
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 2:15 am

Tristan, The Valley refers to the north area of Los Angeles known formally as the San Fernando Valley. But if you live anywhere in or near Los Angeles, it’s simply, The Valley. Check out the film, Valley Girl 1983, and you’ll understand my remark as this thread title might be a question you would hear in that movie. They even have their own language dialect there called Valley Speak, you know.

This is all just good-natured fun, you know you can’t take me seriously (unless I’m talking about parfocal zoom lenses)!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Tristan Pemberton

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:07 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 6:07 am

rick.lang wrote:They even have their own language dialect there called Valley Speak, you know.

You know, like, I think I might kinda' know, like, what you're talking about Rick. I kinda suspected it was in, like, good humour. You know?
Director
Australia
www.flywirefilms.com
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 304
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 7:24 am

Tristan Pemberton wrote:
rick.lang wrote:They even have their own language dialect there called Valley Speak, you know.

You know, like, I think I might kinda' know, like, what you're talking about Rick. I kinda suspected it was in, like, good humour. You know?

Totally.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 7:28 am

Denny Smith wrote:
Do you need a lens attached.
Priceless, :lol:
I think the OP needs to read the manual...
Live the pinhole camera idea, but frilling a 1/4 inch hole and covering it with black cinefoil with a pin hole in it will work better. :roll:
Cheers

Absolutely, just wanted to keep it simple.
A thin piece of metal drilled with a laser would be even better.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Earl R. Thurston

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 pm
  • Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 4:32 pm

valleyguy wrote:Do you have to use an attached lens, or can you use it as is?... can you use it as basically a jazzed up cell phone camera.

Taking the view this was a sincere question -- yes, you have to attach a lens. There is no smaller lens underneath like a cell phone, just a big hole exposing the sensor.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9120
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Earl, Chris already answered the same thing in the third post. We are just having a go at this for fun.
Good idea Uli, I was taking the home grown quick approach, yours is more refined and similar to the Wooden pinhole Cameras thst used 4x5sheet film, you could buy back in the 90s. :mrgreen:
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 8:49 pm

Guys, you*re too polite. Guess you would even answer "Do I need a tripod if I habe two legs already?"
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9120
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Do you need to have an attached lens?

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 9:21 pm

My answer Thomas is, “depends, on which camera, how strong the two legs and if you want a solid shot or?”
So I would say yes. Yiu need a tripod also, maybe not all the time, but... :roll:
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Brad Hurley, Google [Bot], Jim Giberti, Virgile and 19 guests