Shooting HD with the Blackmagic Pocket 4k

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

enricobartolucci

Shooting HD with the Blackmagic Pocket 4k

PostWed Oct 17, 2018 8:01 am

I am an independent filmmaker and producer ; I shot my first documentary feature, released in 2017, with the BMPCC, and I'm now about to shoot my second feature. I'm eagerly waiting for the Pocket 4k to be shipped, but I'm actually planning to use it NOT to shoot 4K, but HD instead.
Here's the reasoning : 4k is not mandatory yet for a theater release, nor for a TV sale, and the upgrade to 4K means a huge step up in media capacity AND transfer speed, as well as disk space, computing power, etc. It's the same issue as the 16mm vs 35mm dilemma, and we know a lot of very good movies have been shot on 16mm, especially when it comes to documentary filmmaking.
And here's the advantages : first, I get access to Blackmagic raw, which is a huge step up in image quality, I have a mini-XLR input with phantom power, a MUCH more reliable power input (the BMPCC flimsy minijack was SO fragile), native double ISO, etc. Then, I can use exactly the same workflow I'm already comfortable with, same media (ol' good SD cards), same lenses (since it seems the 0.58 Speedbooster is supposed to work on the Pocket 4K when shooting 2K, right?), and I get to keep the old BMPCC as a backup. As for the lenses, this is not exactly true, since the crop factor of the Pocket 4K seems to be 4x, so my lenses get less wide, but one solution to this problem might be the Olympus 7-14 2.8 zoom, which becomes a 28-56 - and a very sharp lens since the softness issue in the corners disappears thanks to the window mode.
So, it seems to me that using the Pocket 4K to shoot HD gives me the best of the two worlds, and the new camera solves all the problems that came with the first BMPCC.
Does this make sense to anyone? Any remarks or suggestions?

jimyiapanis

Re: Shooting HD with the Blackmagic Pocket 4k