Starter Lens?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

danny0654

Starter Lens?

PostSun Oct 28, 2018 3:35 pm

I'm starting film school next spring. This is a mid-life career change for me, but something I always wanted to do. Life just got in the way.

My super supportive wife went big for my 40th birthday and got me an URSA Mini 4.6k camera. I'm still learning the basics of this camera and before I drop a ton of money on a lens I'm not sure I'll even need, I wanted to see if there were recommendations for a starter lens? I've been looking at a Cannon EF 75-300MM lens, so I can stick with the existing mount just test out the camera without breaking the bank. I'll be focusing on documentary film making if that helps with lens selections. Right now I just want a good, fairly universal lens that I can use to perfect my camera skills, hopefully something I can use though-out school as well.

I'm also interested in finding out what is a good lens for film makers. Should I expect to have a few high caliber lens in my arsenal or just one 'go to' lens?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

rick.lang

Re: Starter Lens?

PostTue Oct 30, 2018 3:04 am

If you are documenting wildlife, that zoom may be useful, but its shortest focal length may prove difficult if you’re documenting subjects that you want to be close to. You’ve no doubt tried the lens in the Mini Pro. What do you think?

Documentary encompasses a lot of different shooting possibilities. There is an area in the Cinematography forum that discusses compatible EF lenses. I’d think you want to start with a shorter zoom with constant aperture. Perhaps a 24-70mm or something with a broader range. Even a modest 17-55mm may be a good choice if your subjects are often individual people.