How much to charge as a freelance Videographer?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Alex Delfont

PostSat Nov 17, 2018 5:08 am

Hi

Sorry if this isn't right for this forum, but I find everyone on this forum always has valuable advice!

I'm a freelance videographer, photographer and musician. I do everything myself, two camera interviews, sound, editing etc.

I only started doing this for work a few years ago, but I have used cameras all my life and worked with tech, computers and music production all my life too.

I am trying to work out what to charge for creating shortish promo videos for business. So usually a 3 to 5 minute video with talking head interviews and cutting away to B roll. I treat it like a very mini documentary, so it has that feel more than an advert or promo I guess.

I have read so many websites and forums, and I know it varies drastically what people charge. I just can't even decide whether to charge a flat rate for the whole project or hourly rate. I feel there is something simple about a project rate that I like. I also have undersold myself in the past and worked for nothing for charities. It gets a bit tiring to lose out when you feel you are doing skilled work.

The other issue is I'm from the UK but travel, and have done work in Europe and in Thailand. When I'm in Thailand I have worked for Rehabs who charge huge prices to their clients, yet they are reluctant to pay western prices.

I came to a base rate of £30 an hour, and if charging a project rate then I worked it out around this rate beforehand.

Would you consider this a reasonable price, or am I under selling myself? The most frustrating thing is knowing that the employer will never see the hours of sorting, editing, grading, composing etc. And I am extremely obsessive so I dont just do the bare minimum!

Any advice would be very welcome, although I appreciate its very hard advice to give!
Thanks

Johannes Hoffmann