A short ramble about your camera's form factor.

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Karel Voners

A short ramble about your camera's form factor.

PostSat Jun 01, 2013 6:44 pm

Dear Blackmagic,

I love the specs of the cameras you bring out. I love your ideas and price points.

However, as a filmmaker I don't see myself using an ipad with a lens attached to it. Or a compact camera that shoots prores and uncompressed but is as clumsy to use as any other compact.

The way you use the camera defines how you will approach the subject of your film.

Ask yourself, why on earth should it look like a compact camera or an ipad? Why do a digital bolex camera and use the styling of the original? Why on earth would anyone think design of the 60's is better? Sure it sells because it looks retro and cool. But to use it?

Please take a look at what Ikonoskop is doing. They make a camera you can use out of the box. No rigs attached. Handheld and balanced. Plain and simple.

Cinema Verité came to be because the camera's suddenly could do sync sound. Filmmakers were freed fom studio style shooting. Large crews etc... These kind of paradigm shifts are the ones that make the difference.

If you are asking me the guys at Ikonoskop are the only one's who are actually seeing this gaping hole in today's product line.

Please, make a camera that appeals to filmmakers and not only to DP's that drool over specs.

Cheers!
Karel.
i9-12900 - MSI PRO Z690-A - 32GB RAM DDR5 4800Mhz - 1070ti 516.94 - 970PRO nvme - 7x 2TB RAID - Areca 1222 - Mellanox Connectx3 10GBe - Tascam 2x2 USB interface - ACER BM320 10bit 4K monitor - Win 10 19045.3448

Resolve Studio, Decklink 4K, Pocket OG

David Chapman

Re: A short ramble about your camera's form factor.

PostSat Jun 01, 2013 9:01 pm

As a filmmaker, choose a different camera.
David Chapman
Just another creative dude with a camera.

John Bartman

PostSat Jun 01, 2013 9:55 pm