Zebra and peaking while recording

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Florian Blang

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 8:50 pm

Zebra and peaking while recording

PostMon Jun 03, 2013 11:19 am

Hey hey,
Is it normal that zebra and peaking turn off once you hit the record button? Both disapear from my BMCC screen and EVF.
If I´m not missing anything this is an issue that should be fixed with the next firmware.
I´d love to see 2.5K ProRes and DNXHD, too ;)

By the way: Thanks Blackmagic, I really like working with your camera and am glad that I made the right decision buying it!

Cheerio
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 740
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Zebra and peaking while recording

PostMon Jun 03, 2013 11:28 am

No, zebra and peaking do not turn offwhile recording, would be a bit pointless then, especially for peaking.

Maybe you haven't activated overlays on your sdi-output if you don't see it on your external monitor/EVF?
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

John Brawley

  • Posts: 2049
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:57 am
  • Location: London UK

Re: Zebra and peaking while recording

PostMon Jun 03, 2013 1:44 pm

florianblang.com wrote:Hey hey,
Is it normal that zebra and peaking turn off once you hit the record button? Both disapear from my BMCC screen and EVF.
If I´m not missing anything this is an issue that should be fixed with the next firmware.
I´d love to see 2.5K ProRes and DNXHD, too ;)

By the way: Thanks Blackmagic, I really like working with your camera and am glad that I made the right decision buying it!

Cheerio


They do disappear on the SDI output in ProRes (but stay on the screen). I think they stay in RAW but I don't have a camera with me to confirm.

jb
John Brawley
Cinematographer
London UK
Offline

masterok

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:44 pm

Re: Zebra and peaking while recording

PostMon Jun 03, 2013 2:01 pm

only BMD can do this, with their so called CINEMA CAMERA to have these vitally important features disappear in SDI out. Another day, another surprise.
Offline

Vince Gaffney

  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: Zebra and peaking while recording

PostMon Jun 03, 2013 5:49 pm

John Brawley wrote: They do disappear on the SDI output in ProRes (but stay on the screen). I think they stay in RAW but I don't have a camera with me to confirm.


They do remian on the SDI feed in RAW but disapear during recording in both ProRes and DNxHD
Offline
User avatar

Florian Blang

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 8:50 pm

Re: Zebra and peaking while recording

PostTue Jun 04, 2013 11:27 am

Where´s the sense in that? I need those functions in RAW as well as ProRes.
Blackmagic, please add zebra and peaking during recording (in ProRes) to the SDI out signal! :)
Offline

John Brawley

  • Posts: 2049
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:57 am
  • Location: London UK

Re: Zebra and peaking while recording

PostTue Jun 04, 2013 12:18 pm

florianblang.com wrote:Where´s the sense in that? I need those functions in RAW as well as ProRes.
Blackmagic, please add zebra and peaking during recording (in ProRes) to the SDI out signal! :)



I believe it's to do with how much processing overhead there is in the camera. The same reason you can't have a VIDEO LUT applied to the SDI when recording to FILM.

jb
John Brawley
Cinematographer
London UK

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: steveg20 and 13 guests