Connecting BMCC to a TV

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Andreas Kaufmann

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:24 am

Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 2:05 pm

Hi Folks,

A short question: I have this SDI-monitor
http://ikancorp.com/Downloads/quickstart/VX7_QSG.pdf
http://ikancorp.com/productdetail.php?id=210

There are different SDI-Outputs that should allow me to first connect my BMCC to the SDI-Monitor and then to my TV.. I'm asking this because I'd like to connect my TV on set for the director.

For instance: The composite output or the component output YPbPr or the SDI-Output.

The problem is I can't find a suiting cable to connect my monitor to my standard connections of my TV. So from BNC to component or composite.
Those are the inputs of my TV http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/j ... rasero.jpg

Anybody got experience.. please help
www.andreas-kaufmann.net
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1433
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 3:18 pm

Google is your friend. I found this in 15 seconds....

http://www.cablewholesale.com/products/ ... -25206.php
Offline

Andreas Kaufmann

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:24 am

Re: Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 3:48 pm

Thank you Sean.. I'm living in europe..
http://www.thomann.de/de/pro_snake_bnc_ ... 4AodAlcAuA

or this with my existing cables:
http://www.amazon.de/Videoanschlu%C3%9F ... B00183OTJG

do you know if this would work for the composite out? That would just be one cable instead of three --> much more convenient..
www.andreas-kaufmann.net
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1433
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 5:13 pm

Sure, I don't see why it wouldn't. Composite might be more convenient, but it's not going to provide you with the same quality...also, you're limited to NTSC or PAL for output on composite. Component would give you HD.

So if you want to display widescreen 1080p or 720p content...that's the way to go.
Offline

Andreas Kaufmann

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:24 am

Re: Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 8:24 pm

sean mclennan wrote:Sure, I don't see why it wouldn't. Composite might be more convenient, but it's not going to provide you with the same quality...also, you're limited to NTSC or PAL for output on composite. Component would give you HD.

So if you want to display widescreen 1080p or 720p content...that's the way to go.



See, I didn't know that.. I guess you just could pick regular BNC-Cables put an adapter on one end and there you have you're Y - Pb - Pr signals.. or do you need special cables to transmit the Y - Pb and Pr?

Thank you Sean!
www.andreas-kaufmann.net
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1433
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 8:48 pm

Frankly, I don't know.

I don't think there is anything special going on with the cable. If you can run 3 BNC-to-RCA connections, I would think that would let you run from your monitor to your TV.
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Connecting BMCC to a TV

PostWed Jun 05, 2013 9:20 pm

AndiDieMaus wrote:I guess you just could pick regular BNC-Cables put an adapter on one end and there you have you're Y - Pb - Pr signals.. or do you need special cables to transmit the Y - Pb and Pr?

There's nothing special to the cables, just blank wire (ok, coax wire...) with the right connectors. BNC-Cables with cinch adapters should work. But you have to make sure your TV accepts the image format, some TVs are limited to 1080i or 720p, and not all will do both 25/30 rsp. 50/60, let alone 24 fps!

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jensgruen, Kim Janson, SayEffect, Username and 27 guests