Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 7:16 am

EDIT:

Finally I managed to get thumbnails with that great freebie: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Icaros
FYI: I had to register the filetype at first (within the programme), then activate it to get them displayed.


Hi there,

would anyone please enlighten me how to view thumbnails of ProRes-files in a windows explorer?
My google-search didn't help meat first and I thought if there's a little trick I'll ask here before I spend half a day searching again.

Thank you!
Last edited by Thomas Schumacher on Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: NoProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 7:27 am

There is a freeware tool called "CodecTweakTool" that can tweak a lot of codec-related settings, among them are on/off switches for thumbnail-generation.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 7:30 am

Great, thanks Mac!

EDIT: this didn'tfix it.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 2:28 pm

Sorry to hear. Does it work with other quicktime files? Might be you are lacking a ProRes-Codec for Quicktime.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 4:41 pm

Mac Jaeger wrote:Sorry to hear. Does it work with other quicktime files? Might be you are lacking a ProRes-Codec for Quicktime.


Thx. Yes, it works with my Canon H.264-files. I wonder if I could lack a Prores-Codec, as I can play the files with VLC, edit them in Vegas etc. And this happens on both machines. Just tried to install ProRes Decoder für QuickTime, but it's already installed.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 6:31 pm

VLC is no indicator, it has a lot of codecs built in. Vegas probably the same. Did you use the tool as with admin rights? Did you restart Windows? I can't test it, my windows doesn't have ProRes codecs installed... yet.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 8:08 pm

Yes, when I try to run it as an admin, the installer says that there is already a newer version installed.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 9:04 pm

Then i'm lost here too. I tried to get it to work on my own system, and i now have thumbnails for almost any kind of video file - yet only the prores files won't work. Sorry pal, i'd really like to have this too, as i'm in the wait for the Pocket CC and will shoot ProRes a lot then... If you find a way to make it happen, let me know!
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 10:47 pm

Thanks a lot Mac for trying!

I'll definately let the world know if I get it to work, I wonder how the rest of the folks around here do it.
:?:
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 1:35 am

Have you got QuickTime Player installed?
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 8:35 am

gmf wrote:I'll definately let the world know if I get it to work, I wonder how the rest of the folks around here do it.

Do what? Sorting my clips? I think that could as easily be done in the media-management section of most NLEs. In the first place i searched for the tweaker tool to get rid (!) of the thumbnails, because they were slowing down my work: sometimes i couldn't move or rename files because windows' thumbnail handler still had a grip on them, and even "open file" dialogs would get stuck for a few seconds... Now i only enabled thumbnails for some filetypes, like my family clips (that's the one time i'm glad that consumer cameras usually use different filetypes than pro equip ;-) ).
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 9:06 am

Chris Hocking wrote:Have you got QuickTime Player installed?


Yes, Chris, I have, doesn't help, always had it installed.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 9:08 am

Mac Jaeger wrote:
gmf wrote:I'll definately let the world know if I get it to work, I wonder how the rest of the folks around here do it.

Do what? Sorting my clips?


:-)

No, just wondering if no one wants to delete ProRes-clips in Win-explorer by watching a thumbnail, it's the fastest way to get rid of unwanted clips, at least for me.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 11:11 am

Well, that i understand. My workflow is a little different, as i never delete clips until a project is done - you never know, sometimes a bad take is still good for something (eg. i once had to use the audio from an ill-focused yet otherwise good shot). After finishing a project i conform it to my archive, copying only used media. Then i delete all source material.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 1:49 pm

That's what I do as well with serious projects, Mac, but these days I just take the camera and do some test shootings, so most of that stuff can be wiped off of the harddisk again after I had a close look.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Darryl Gregory

  • Posts: 939
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:49 am
  • Location: LA

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostMon Jun 10, 2013 6:08 pm

If you have Adobe Bridge you can view thumbnails and play them on Win7,
I know it's not windows explorer but it can view all in one folder, Just a thought.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostMon Jun 10, 2013 8:16 pm

Darryl Gregory wrote:If you have Adobe Bridge you can view thumbnails and play them on Win7,
I know it's not windows explorer but it can view all in one folder, Just a thought.


Thanks, that's a good advice. It's only that my AdobeBridge CS2 can't handle it properly, for what reason ever, and the program keeps not reacting anymore. Aside from that it would be a great solution.
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 5:05 am

Finally I managed to get thumbnails with that great freebie:

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Icaros

FYI: I had to register the filetype at first (within the programme): deactivate it, type in the extension, then activate it to get them displayed:

Unbenannt-1.jpg
Unbenannt-1.jpg (99.75 KiB) Viewed 4676 times
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Rob Ford

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:24 pm

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 2:54 pm

I can't seem to get it to work in win7 64bit
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 3:46 pm

Rob Ford wrote:I can't seem to get it to work in win7 64bit


Oh really? Maybe you have to run that "CodecTweakTool" Mac Jaeger has mentioned in this thread beforehand? At least that's what I did - tried that "CodecTweakTool" and that didn't help but there was a pop-up window with that programme suggesting Icaros.

Hope that helps!
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostWed May 14, 2014 6:06 am

Rob Ford wrote:I can't seem to get it to work in win7 64bit



Hey Rob,

another thing to be aware of (had the same prob after a fresh install of win7):

make sure that 'Always show icons, never thumbnails' isn't checked in view settings for folders:
Open Windows Explorer (any folder)> Organize> Folder and search options> View tab> make sure Always show icons, never thumbnails isn't checked, if it is, uncheck it
My award-winning doc: https://vimeo.com/91622063
ARE YOU HAPPY? https://vimeo.com/72724154
http://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
https://berlin3500.wordpress.com/
Offline

Ariel Guerchicoff

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:56 am

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostSun Mar 04, 2018 5:46 pm

It works for Windows 10 too! thanks for the tip!

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Florent Piovesan, Gavin_c_clark, JacobSchuhle, James_H, sn0west, SpiralDragon, stefanschreiber and 15 guests