Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 7:16 am

EDIT:

Finally I managed to get thumbnails with that great freebie: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Icaros
FYI: I had to register the filetype at first (within the programme), then activate it to get them displayed.


Hi there,

would anyone please enlighten me how to view thumbnails of ProRes-files in a windows explorer?
My google-search didn't help meat first and I thought if there's a little trick I'll ask here before I spend half a day searching again.

Thank you!
Last edited by Thomas Schumacher on Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: NoProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 7:27 am

There is a freeware tool called "CodecTweakTool" that can tweak a lot of codec-related settings, among them are on/off switches for thumbnail-generation.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 7:30 am

Great, thanks Mac!

EDIT: this didn'tfix it.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 2:28 pm

Sorry to hear. Does it work with other quicktime files? Might be you are lacking a ProRes-Codec for Quicktime.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 4:41 pm

Mac Jaeger wrote:Sorry to hear. Does it work with other quicktime files? Might be you are lacking a ProRes-Codec for Quicktime.


Thx. Yes, it works with my Canon H.264-files. I wonder if I could lack a Prores-Codec, as I can play the files with VLC, edit them in Vegas etc. And this happens on both machines. Just tried to install ProRes Decoder für QuickTime, but it's already installed.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 6:31 pm

VLC is no indicator, it has a lot of codecs built in. Vegas probably the same. Did you use the tool as with admin rights? Did you restart Windows? I can't test it, my windows doesn't have ProRes codecs installed... yet.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 8:08 pm

Yes, when I try to run it as an admin, the installer says that there is already a newer version installed.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 9:04 pm

Then i'm lost here too. I tried to get it to work on my own system, and i now have thumbnails for almost any kind of video file - yet only the prores files won't work. Sorry pal, i'd really like to have this too, as i'm in the wait for the Pocket CC and will shoot ProRes a lot then... If you find a way to make it happen, let me know!
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSat Jun 08, 2013 10:47 pm

Thanks a lot Mac for trying!

I'll definately let the world know if I get it to work, I wonder how the rest of the folks around here do it.
:?:
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 1:35 am

Have you got QuickTime Player installed?
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 8:35 am

gmf wrote:I'll definately let the world know if I get it to work, I wonder how the rest of the folks around here do it.

Do what? Sorting my clips? I think that could as easily be done in the media-management section of most NLEs. In the first place i searched for the tweaker tool to get rid (!) of the thumbnails, because they were slowing down my work: sometimes i couldn't move or rename files because windows' thumbnail handler still had a grip on them, and even "open file" dialogs would get stuck for a few seconds... Now i only enabled thumbnails for some filetypes, like my family clips (that's the one time i'm glad that consumer cameras usually use different filetypes than pro equip ;-) ).
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 9:06 am

Chris Hocking wrote:Have you got QuickTime Player installed?


Yes, Chris, I have, doesn't help, always had it installed.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 9:08 am

Mac Jaeger wrote:
gmf wrote:I'll definately let the world know if I get it to work, I wonder how the rest of the folks around here do it.

Do what? Sorting my clips?


:-)

No, just wondering if no one wants to delete ProRes-clips in Win-explorer by watching a thumbnail, it's the fastest way to get rid of unwanted clips, at least for me.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 11:11 am

Well, that i understand. My workflow is a little different, as i never delete clips until a project is done - you never know, sometimes a bad take is still good for something (eg. i once had to use the audio from an ill-focused yet otherwise good shot). After finishing a project i conform it to my archive, copying only used media. Then i delete all source material.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostSun Jun 09, 2013 1:49 pm

That's what I do as well with serious projects, Mac, but these days I just take the camera and do some test shootings, so most of that stuff can be wiped off of the harddisk again after I had a close look.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Darryl Gregory

  • Posts: 939
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:49 am
  • Location: LA

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostMon Jun 10, 2013 6:08 pm

If you have Adobe Bridge you can view thumbnails and play them on Win7,
I know it's not windows explorer but it can view all in one folder, Just a thought.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: No ProRes thumbnails onWin7 64bit

PostMon Jun 10, 2013 8:16 pm

Darryl Gregory wrote:If you have Adobe Bridge you can view thumbnails and play them on Win7,
I know it's not windows explorer but it can view all in one folder, Just a thought.


Thanks, that's a good advice. It's only that my AdobeBridge CS2 can't handle it properly, for what reason ever, and the program keeps not reacting anymore. Aside from that it would be a great solution.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 5:05 am

Finally I managed to get thumbnails with that great freebie:

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Icaros

FYI: I had to register the filetype at first (within the programme): deactivate it, type in the extension, then activate it to get them displayed:

Unbenannt-1.jpg
Unbenannt-1.jpg (99.75 KiB) Viewed 4997 times
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline
User avatar

Rob Ford

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:24 pm

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 2:54 pm

I can't seem to get it to work in win7 64bit
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 3:46 pm

Rob Ford wrote:I can't seem to get it to work in win7 64bit


Oh really? Maybe you have to run that "CodecTweakTool" Mac Jaeger has mentioned in this thread beforehand? At least that's what I did - tried that "CodecTweakTool" and that didn't help but there was a pop-up window with that programme suggesting Icaros.

Hope that helps!
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostWed May 14, 2014 6:06 am

Rob Ford wrote:I can't seem to get it to work in win7 64bit



Hey Rob,

another thing to be aware of (had the same prob after a fresh install of win7):

make sure that 'Always show icons, never thumbnails' isn't checked in view settings for folders:
Open Windows Explorer (any folder)> Organize> Folder and search options> View tab> make sure Always show icons, never thumbnails isn't checked, if it is, uncheck it
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline

Ariel Guerchicoff

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:56 am

Re: Now finally: ProRes thumbnails on Win7 64bit

PostSun Mar 04, 2018 5:46 pm

It works for Windows 10 too! thanks for the tip!

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AllMankind, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 21 guests