DSLR response to BMPCC?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Steve Holmlund

DSLR response to BMPCC?

PostFri Jun 28, 2013 11:48 pm

Hi, first post. I've enjoyed reading all the topics. I'm a hobbyist saving up for (possibly) a BMPCC. A question has come to mind that it seems is reasonable to ask whilst everyone waits for their various cameras.

The question is this: How defensible is the BMD cinema technology vs. a future DSLR from one of the big boys? As far as I can tell, the main features generating all the interest are dynamic range, raw uncompressed video and whatever firmware/software is required to make it look like film. Is BMD "hiding" for the time being in a niche, doing market research for the likes of Canon, Sony, Panasonic, etc? Or do they "have something" not easily replicated?

I suppose Panasonic, Canon, and the others are somewhat constrained by a requirement not to cannibalize higher-end offerings. But I was wondering if maybe the "GH4" might suddenly appear with a lot of what the BMPCC brings to the table. With the GH3 priced at $1300, it appears BMD might have a fairly long window.

Just curious...
Steve Holmlund
Hobbyist
BMPCC, vintage Rokkor lenses, Olympus 12-40 and 12-100, Panasonic 100-300 II
SmallHD Focus, i7 8700k / GTX 1080

Margus Voll

Re: DSLR response to BMPCC?

PostSat Jun 29, 2013 8:05 am

DR is just one thing.

Other is how the images are recorded uncompressed or prorez. both are superior to canon or
panasonic compressed files in technical aspect.

This is the part where all dslr like cameras fail now.
Margus Voll, CSI

http://www.iconstudios.eu
margus (at) iconstudios.eu
IG: margusvoll

ChrisBarcellos

PostSun Jun 30, 2013 3:29 am