Is this a bug?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tinniman

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Bjarte Ludvigsen

Is this a bug?

PostFri Feb 16, 2018 10:27 am

Hi

Is this a bug or is a way to get rid of the bottom squares that are in both my viewer and render output of the film? The colors of the squares changes according to the video colors on screen.


Image

Best regards

Tinniman
Offline

tinniman

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Bjarte Ludvigsen

Re: Is this a bug?

PostFri Feb 16, 2018 5:30 pm

It seem to happen when I setup an alpha channel in the nodes area. I´ve tried to do it on another video and it happens no matter what. I´ve checked with different tutorials online and no of them get these squares at the bottom.

I´m working on a deadline for Monday so help is much appreciated.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4986
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Is this a bug?

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 7:45 am

With no information about your system or OS we can only guess a GPU issue.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Hector Berrebi

  • Posts: 477
  • Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Is this a bug?

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 8:32 am

tinniman wrote:It seem to happen when I setup an alpha channel in the nodes area. I´ve tried to do it on another video and it happens no matter what. I´ve checked with different tutorials online and no of them get these squares at the bottom.

I´m working on a deadline for Monday so help is much appreciated.



What do you mean by "setup an alpha channel in the nodes area"? Are you adding an alpha output to your correction? Is it a timeline correction or on individual clips?

Strangely, it looks a bit like the Color Palette OFX ... Maybe somehow it made its way to your node structure? Maybe on a timeline or group correction?
H e c t o r _ B e r r e b i
---------------------------
Colorist ~ Consultant ~ Trainer
Da Vinci Resolve Certified Instructor
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 263
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 4:11 pm

That looks like a graphics driver or perhaps a graphics card issue.
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 767
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 6:55 pm

Read this, then repost your question:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=69837
>>Kays Alatrakchi
www.mbkproductions.com
Director, Colorist, Composer (not necessarily in that order).
Resolve 15.2, Mac OS X 10.13.5 (High Sierra), i7 8700k, 32Gb DDR4 RAM, Dual GTX 1080ti, Decklink Mini Monitor, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline

tinniman

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Bjarte Ludvigsen

Re: Is this a bug?

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 7:53 pm

Hi

I´ve got a 2 week old Mac Pro laptop with the biggest upgrade.

High Sierra 10.13.3
2,9 i7 processor
500 GB SSD disk
16GB RAM
Intel HD Graphics 630 1536 MB

I´m using the latest Resolve, downloaded 5 days ago.

My process. I use the qualifier and find the green screen areas. I add an alpha output and voila(!) the square show up on the screen.

No way to remove it.

Image
Last edited by tinniman on Sat Feb 17, 2018 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 918
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Is this a bug?

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 7:55 pm

Can you post a screen grab of your node tree?

Got it. I'm not seeing this behavior. Do you see it if create a new project and/or use different source media?

Also, what I find strange is that the node tree thumbnail is black and white. (Are you desaturating in Cuves?) As even in B&W highlight mode, the thumbnail should be full color, AFAIK.
Attachments
DVRAlphaBugTest.jpg
DVRAlphaBugTest.jpg (103.16 KiB) Viewed 669 times
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3724
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSat Feb 17, 2018 10:42 pm

Intel graphics is not really great for Resolve.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

tinniman

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Bjarte Ludvigsen

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSun Feb 18, 2018 12:13 am

Still, many people work flawlessly with a macbook pro and I´ve done for years in Premiere ;)

I don´t think that is the issue. I made a completely new project, imported again, made all the adjustments and the squares are gone. It´s a bug and a sucky one.

I also found several other big bugs in the green screen department with this program and I have recorded them with a screen capture. Anyone know where to send these?
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 170
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am

Re: Is this a bug?

PostSun Feb 18, 2018 4:04 am

Have you tried blowing away the cache for that clip?
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Offline
User avatar

Hector Berrebi

  • Posts: 477
  • Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSun Feb 18, 2018 6:28 am

Uli Plank wrote:Intel graphics is not really great for Resolve.


Uli, this model has also a strong Radeon Pro 560 with 4 g... It runs Resolve flawlessly

tinniman wrote:I don´t think that is the issue. I made a completely new project, imported again, made all the adjustments and the squares are gone. It´s a bug and a sucky one.

I also found several other big bugs in the green screen department with this program and I have recorded them with a screen capture. Anyone know where to send these?


Happy you solved this very strange problem... Not sure about the "sucky" part though... More like an exotic and extremely rare, currently documented once and still not duplicate-able bug ;)

As a side note. Resolve's Qualifiers are not initially made for green screen work. What qualifier did you use to key?
If you really have to do this in Resolve (as opposed to Fusion), you should use the 3D Keyer, with the Despill box ticked and key inverted. With proper Matte Finesse work it gives the best results
H e c t o r _ B e r r e b i
---------------------------
Colorist ~ Consultant ~ Trainer
Da Vinci Resolve Certified Instructor
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3724
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSun Feb 18, 2018 7:58 am

You didn't mention the Radeon Pro 560 with 4 GB. Of course, that's fine for Resolve. AFAIK, there used to be MBPs models with Intel graphics only, so I mentioned it.

Glad you sorted this one out, but I second the recommendation of doing compositing work in Fusion, even if Resolve has some limited possibilities for this.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

tinniman

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Bjarte Ludvigsen

Re: Strange color squares on bottom of film

PostSun Feb 18, 2018 12:33 pm

If you really have to do this in Resolve (as opposed to Fusion), you should use the 3D Keyer, with the Despill box ticked and key inverted. With proper Matte Finesse work it gives the best results


That´s exactly what I´m doing :)
Offline

tinniman

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Bjarte Ludvigsen

Re: Is this a bug?

PostMon Feb 19, 2018 11:22 am

BTW, the mac has 2 graphics cards. I also have the Radeon Pro 560 4 GB which it switches to when working on stuff like this:)
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 918
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Is this a bug?

PostWed Feb 21, 2018 2:39 am

Have you tried disabling the Intel graphics?

Also just post a link here to your videos of other bugs.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Tom Knight and 22 guests