Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Juha Takabe

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm
  • Location: Finland

Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 12:35 pm

After upgrading 15.01 to 15.1, I started getting "Looking for control surface" hang.
Is it safe to uninstall and reinstall without loosing my old project files?

OS: Windows 10

Thanks!
Offline

Marcus C. Hambsch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:25 pm
  • Real Name: Marcus C. Hambsch

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 1:36 pm

Same here.
Resolve Studio 15.1 installed.

Hang at start:
looking for control surface
. . . .
Win 10 Pro

Any solutions ?!?

Regards,

Marcus
CINE-VFX.com
Offline

Stephen Sawchuk

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 2:07 pm

I got this one, too. Downgraded to 15.0.1 for now, without losing anything.
Offline

Roger Singh

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:56 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 4:42 pm

I'm also getting this too. First time it's happening to my system.
Offline

Nicolas Guillou

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:56 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 4:49 pm

For me is the same thing and the first time :? I go back to 15.0.1
WIN8.1Pro E5-2689x2 64Go SSD512Go RAID5 45To 2xGTX TITAN
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4777
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 5:37 pm

We can now see this.. If you have a multi-GPU Windows system, you need to set your GPU Processing Mode to Auto before upgrading to DaVinci Resolve 15.1.

This will be addressed in the next dot update.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Nicolas Guillou

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:56 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 5:57 pm

Yes ! It's ok for me. I hope it's ok for you !
Thank you Peter
WIN8.1Pro E5-2689x2 64Go SSD512Go RAID5 45To 2xGTX TITAN
Offline

Stephen Sawchuk

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 6:18 pm

It did not work for me, unfortunately. Curious if it's just me, or if the other reporters are all good to go after setting the GPU Processing Mode to auto.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 397
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 6:36 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:We can now see this.. If you have a multi-GPU Windows system, you need to set your GPU Processing Mode to Auto before upgrading to DaVinci Resolve 15.1.

This will be addressed in the next dot update.


And if you don't see this recommendation and upgrade first (without GPU Processing Mode set to Auto) is there a way to recover? Would uninstall 15.1 / set GPU Processing Mode to Auto / reinstall 15.1 work?
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Nicolas Guillou

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:56 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 7:38 pm

I go back to 15.0.1. Set auto for GPU. And install 15.1 and is fine.
But don't forget to backup your database before upgrade Resolve.
But this time I haven't backup my database before and all is fine.
WIN8.1Pro E5-2689x2 64Go SSD512Go RAID5 45To 2xGTX TITAN
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 7:48 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:We can now see this.. If you have a multi-GPU Windows system, you need to set your GPU Processing Mode to Auto before upgrading to DaVinci Resolve 15.1.

This will be addressed in the next dot update.


+1. I have this problem also. I have multiple GPUs. I un-installed 15.1 and went back to 15.0.1, changed the GPU processing mode to Auto, then upgraded to 15.1. First time it loaded, second time it got hung up again on looking for control surfaces. So apparently this is not merely a matter of changing a setting before upgrading, but changing it to "Auto" and leaving it set to "Auto" otherwise Resolve wont load. That's where Im at now. So now I have to un-install resolve, install 15.0.1 again, set the processing mode to auto and then leave it set to auto until this issue is fixed.
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.0
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Lowell Sherris

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 7:54 pm

I have the same issue on my desktop. My notebook computer works fine. It feels like another installed program is interfering. I just wish we knew which one.
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 648
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 7:57 pm

Encountered the same problem, but in my case it was reversed. The setting was originally Auto (with two GPU's on Windows 10), that worked fine. Then changed it to CUDA and then the problem started.

After several cancellations and reboots, it finally worked, also using CUDA (instead of auto).
This also seems to influence ACES 1.1, some things do not work under CUDA giving a black viewer but they do work under OpenCL.
Offline

Marcus C. Hambsch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:25 pm
  • Real Name: Marcus C. Hambsch

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 10:57 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:We can now see this.. If you have a multi-GPU Windows system, you need to set your GPU Processing Mode to Auto before upgrading to DaVinci Resolve 15.1.

This will be addressed in the next dot update.


Hi Peter !

Thanks for the workaround !
This did the trick on the multi-GPU Win 10 Pro workstation.
Now Resolve Studio 15.1 starts properly.

Having Loaders now in the Fusion Page with access to multi-layer OpenEXR file channels is a huge step !
Thanks a lot !!!

Regards,

Marcus
CINE-VFX.com
Offline

Matt Sharp

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:58 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 12:30 am

+1 on GPU Processing causing my system to freeze at the control panels search.

I reverted back to 15.0.1, changed the setting, and then upgraded. It's working for me now.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 770
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 1:09 am

In my case, it was faster to enable SLI, which let me launch Resolve, then disable manual processing mode selection.
Last edited by Jack Fairley on Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Willian Aleman

  • Posts: 285
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:08 pm
  • Location: NYC, USA

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 1:20 am

Jack Fairley wrote:In my case, it was faster to enable SLI, which let me launch Resolve, then disable manual processing.


I though Resolve didn't support GPU SLI configuration. Is it now supported in DR15?
Willian Aleman
Digital Imaging Technician
New York City
USA
Always willing to travel
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 770
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 1:31 am

Willian Aleman wrote:I though Resolve didn't support GPU SLI configuration. Is it now supported in DR15?

It doesn't, and causes weird problems. I guessed that turning it on might let me get into the settings, and I was right.
Offline

Willian Aleman

  • Posts: 285
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:08 pm
  • Location: NYC, USA

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 2:05 am

Jack Fairley wrote:
Willian Aleman wrote:I though Resolve didn't support GPU SLI configuration. Is it now supported in DR15?

It doesn't, and causes weird problems. I guessed that turning it on might let me get into the settings, and I was right.

Thanks for clarifying this.
Willian Aleman
Digital Imaging Technician
New York City
USA
Always willing to travel
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4777
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 6:44 am

Hi all, if you have a seen this v15.1 issue where Resolve won’t complete the startup please download the updated v15.1 posted today.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Juha Takabe

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 7:00 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:We can now see this.. If you have a multi-GPU Windows system, you need to set your GPU Processing Mode to Auto before upgrading to DaVinci Resolve 15.1.

This will be addressed in the next dot update.

It did the trick! Thanks!
Offline

oliwend

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Oliver Wendel

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 7:20 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Hi all, if you have a seen this v15.1 issue where Resolve won’t complete the startup please download the updated v15.1 posted today.


Didn't help on my side (MacOS 10.12.6, only system GPU). I used the file provided this morning -> hangs on start. Reverted back to 15.0.1 and checked the settings for GPU processing mode: It was set to "Auto".
Oli
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20180915-084758.tgz
(921.18 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Last edited by oliwend on Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15', Mid 2014), 2,8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB, macOS 10.12.x, Resolve 15 Free
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 990
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 7:27 am

oliwend wrote:
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Hi all, if you have a seen this v15.1 issue where Resolve won’t complete the startup please download the updated v15.1 posted today.


Didn't help on my side (MacOS 10.12.6, only system GPU). I used the file provided this morning -> hangs on start. Reverted back to 15.0.1 and checked the settings for GPU processing mode: It was set to "Auto".
Oli


Could you please post logs? Use the CaptureLogs app (see instructions on forum)
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline
User avatar

Daniel Batinic

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:34 am
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Daniel Batinic

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 7:39 am

In Windows i found the workaround so you don't have to uninstall then go back to 15.0.1 to set it to auto then go back to 15.1...

Go to path: C: ProgramData/Blackmagic Design/Davinci Resolve/Preferences

open the file ".config.data" (notepad or notepad ++ ) and set GPUProcessingMode = Auto save and launch Davinci.

For mac may be the similar trick in similar path.
Didn't try on this morning version.
Broadcast video specialist/technician
Broadcast video quality control technician
DIT
Colorist
Offline

oliwend

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Oliver Wendel

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 7:50 am

Rohit Gupta wrote:
oliwend wrote:
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Hi all, if you have a seen this v15.1 issue where Resolve won’t complete the startup please download the updated v15.1 posted today.


Didn't help on my side (MacOS 10.12.6, only system GPU). I used the file provided this morning -> hangs on start. Reverted back to 15.0.1 and checked the settings for GPU processing mode: It was set to "Auto".
Oli


Could you please post logs? Use the CaptureLogs app (see instructions on forum)


done, edited my post
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15', Mid 2014), 2,8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB, macOS 10.12.x, Resolve 15 Free
Offline

Andrew Findlay

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 8:14 pm

Hi - Mac OS 10.12.6. Another one hanging on "looking for control surface" with 15.1 free version. I uninstalled my previous 15.0 beta (which was fine) and restarted before upgrading. I have checked auto setting re GPU. If I uninstall 15.1 and reinstall 15.0 it opens OK. Is there a preference or setting file that can be trashed maybe...?

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15', 2013), 2,6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Intel Iris Pro 1536 and NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB.
Offline

oliwend

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Oliver Wendel

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 5:04 am

works now with version 15.1.0.025!
Oli
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15', Mid 2014), 2,8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB, macOS 10.12.x, Resolve 15 Free
Offline

Andrew Findlay

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: Resolve 15.1 looking for control surface hang

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 2:25 pm

Thanks Oli - 15.1.0.025 opens OK on my Macboook Pro 10.12.6 :)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ArminReiss, cadeg_rsh, enricob, Josef Pöllmann, Michel Sterling, Omar Mhammedi and 29 guests