Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

cpilavios

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:38 pm
  • Real Name: Constantin Pilavios

Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 3:02 pm

Hi there!

I registered at the forum to address an issue i'm having with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit" only to find out I'm not the only crazy one who has it.

So the way it (wrongly) works for me is:
    :arrow: I Playback the timeline
    :arrow: I stop
    :arrow: I add an OUT Point
    :arrow: In the timeline an IN point is inserted automatically at the beginning (I'm OK with that btw :P)
    :arrow: Then I click the menu command "Playback > Previous > Clip/Edit"
    (I don't actually click it, I have Keyboard shortcut for that, but they both result to the following)
    :arrow: Instead of the cursor going to the previous Edit, it goes to the IN Point. :o

Until this is fixed, I wonder if any of you have figured out a workaround.

Thanks!!
Last edited by cpilavios on Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostSun Dec 01, 2019 3:37 am

What Resolve and OS version r u using?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

cpilavios

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:38 pm
  • Real Name: Constantin Pilavios

Re: Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostSun Dec 01, 2019 3:39 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:What Resolve and OS version r u using?


Yes, sorry I forgot to mention that!

macOS 10.13.6 (same thing in 10.14.6) and Davinci Resolve 16.1.1.005
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4456
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostMon Dec 02, 2019 4:42 pm

Yeah, I'm seeing that here as well. It is odd behavior.

The desired behavior here is for Previous/Next Edit to be independent and always active shortcuts on the Edit page.

Studio 16.1.1 for Windows.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 2:04 am

Can you check if your track Auto Select icons are enabled?

DaVinci Resolve considers clip extents only in auto-selected tracks for navigating to adjacent clips or edits. The presence of In and Out points shouldn't (and from some testing, don't) affect this behavior.

Please refer to pages 516 and 577 in the manual for documentation on the Auto Select state
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3046
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 3:01 am

On Windows, I see it working as expected if the 'out' point is on a cut. But if "out" is in the middle of a clip, "previous" moves the playhead to the start of the timeline.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4456
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Issue with "Playback > Previous & Next > Clip/Edit"

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 4:34 pm

Auto Select is enabled.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brad Hurley, DaRookie, Jonathan Happ and 83 guests