BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

filipedeschamps

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:06 am
  • Real Name: Filipe Deschamps

BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 3:36 am

This happens inside BRAW Player and Davinci Resolve. If I disable GPU acceleration for BRAW files, the problem is fixed.

Image

Grafics Card:
AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB

macOS:
10.15.1

Davinci Resolve:
16.1.1.005
Offline

filipedeschamps

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:06 am
  • Real Name: Filipe Deschamps

Re: BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 6:11 pm

Looks like this is an already known problem, found a thread with more details on Reddit.

Can't post links, but it's under r/blackmagicdesign
Offline

Neil Sadwelkar

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:55 pm

Re: BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostWed Dec 04, 2019 1:31 am

I’m seeing the same, on a new MBP 16” but with the 5300 GPU. I solved it by setting decode to quarter res.
Neil Sadwelkar
Digital Consultant
India
Offline

joeyciccoline

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:12 pm

Re: BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostWed Dec 04, 2019 3:42 am

I'm having the same problem. I hope they can get this fixed soon. It's definitely still doing it at quarter res, it's just not as visible. You can see it I the way the image shifts between play and pause.
Offline

joeyciccoline

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:12 pm

Re: BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostWed Dec 04, 2019 3:50 am

Also, I just realized that manually setting the GPU to OpenCL fixes it. So it seems potentially specific to Metal.
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1606
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostWed Dec 04, 2019 5:52 am

Update your Blackmagic RAW player to 1.6 which has a workaround for AMD's GPU bug.
Resolve should contain this SDK update in their next release.
http://www.captainhook.co.nz/blackmagic-cinema-camera-lut/

**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

filipedeschamps

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:06 am
  • Real Name: Filipe Deschamps

Re: BRAW vertical stripes on new Macbook Pro 16'

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 5:59 pm

Thank you very much!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aknittel, Andy Mees, connorlee64, Jim Hall, LauraE, LecouteurJ, MSN [Bot], roger.magnusson and 231 guests