Image export is so complicated

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

robozb

  • Posts: 293
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:48 am
  • Location: Hungary
  • Real Name: Roboz Bela Tamas

Image export is so complicated

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 12:16 pm

We need a very simple quick image export function from the preview window! :) Please, please, please

The actual way: create a timeline -> switch to the timeline view -> switch to the color tab -> turn on the gallery panel -> grab a still -> export the still IS INCREDIBLE COMPLICATED!!!
Offline

Robin Doelly

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:34 pm

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 12:20 pm

Yup it is convoluted, a simple snapshot option with maybe a few options such as burn on reel ident and timecode would be handy.

Let's hope that it is in the pipeline
Offline
User avatar

robozb

  • Posts: 293
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:48 am
  • Location: Hungary
  • Real Name: Roboz Bela Tamas

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 2:05 pm

We hope :)
Offline
User avatar

seanross67

  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 6:12 pm

yes please! full resolution please~!1
Linux Resolve on a Centos workstation. 3 Titan GPU cards and 32gb RAM. Davinci Resolve 15.2
Offline
User avatar

robozb

  • Posts: 293
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:48 am
  • Location: Hungary
  • Real Name: Roboz Bela Tamas

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 6:30 pm

Yes, that is also important because the export from grabbed stills works at the project resolution not the resolution of source!
Offline

Asit Jain

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 6:47 am
  • Location: Bhopal, India

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostWed Jan 22, 2020 7:04 am

+1
- Asit
__________________________
Dell T5500, Dual Hex Core Xeon
48GB RAM, GTX 1080 8GB
Window 10
Offline

Chris Theofanopoulos

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:06 am
  • Real Name: Christos Theofanopoulos

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostThu Jan 23, 2020 8:12 am

robozb wrote:Yes, that is also important because the export from grabbed stills works at the project resolution not the resolution of source!
You could right click and export with some options from the fusion monitor also in full resution

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019)
64 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro 580X 8 GB
Offline

DietmarLin

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:20 pm
  • Real Name: Ralf Dietmar Kohlitz

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostThu Jan 23, 2020 8:32 am

robozb wrote:We hope :)

Its not only the export.
In November last year I suggested to make it possible to import RW-Stills. But, nothing happened.
That stuff with the stills does not seam to be important enough at the time
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6476
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Image export is so complicated

PostThu Jan 23, 2020 10:12 am

robozb wrote:The actual way: create a timeline -> switch to the timeline view -> switch to the color tab -> turn on the gallery panel -> grab a still -> export the still IS INCREDIBLE COMPLICATED!!!

You mean within the Edit page? No, there's no way to do it -- you have to do it from the Color page at the moment. I leave the Gallery panel up all the time, so it's not an issue for me. There's a point where you have to stop fighting the software and figure out a way to accept it and make it function with your own workflow.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Astrosphere, henriko, John Paines, lucabriganti, MishaEngel, roger.magnusson and 84 guests