BUG - Timelines/Compounds are getting cropped

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Antoine Grasset

  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:05 pm
  • Location: Paris, France

BUG - Timelines/Compounds are getting cropped

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 1:56 pm

Hello,
here is the bug I encounter :
when dragging Timelines or Compounds Clips in another timeline which resolution is lower, they are getting cropped/clipped and it becomes impossible to zoom-out or reframe.

Steps to reproduce :
- Create a new Project
- Set resolution to 1920*1080 and Input Scaling set to "Center crop with no resizing")
- Import a 1920*1080 clip
- Create a new timeline from this clip, call it "Precomp" (it should be 1920*1080 by default)
- Create an empty Timeline with resolution set to 1280*720, call it "MASTER"
- Open this MASTER Timeline, and drag the original clip + the "Precomp" clip

You should see that the image is now cropped, that's normal, but...
- if you zoom out the original clip : you can recover the original framing = NORMAL
- if you zoom out the Precomp : you get a black border = WRONG

Can anyone reproduce and confirm this bug ?
I'm using Resolve Studio 16.1.2 on OSX 10.14.6
Here is a video demonstrating the issue : https://imgur.com/svzrBNK
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 5562
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: BUG - Timelines/Compounds are getting cropped

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 6:16 pm

That's not a bug, it's intentional design. Think of it this way.

A timeline is like a picture frame. The original clip is the picture in that frame.

If you scale the timeline (precomp), it's like making the picture frame smaller. If you're looking to change the scale of the picture, then you need to make those adjustments on the picture (original clip), not on the frame (timeline).

Understand?
Offline
User avatar

Antoine Grasset

  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:05 pm
  • Location: Paris, France

Re: BUG - Timelines/Compounds are getting cropped

PostTue Jan 28, 2020 2:45 pm

Jim Simon wrote:A timeline is like a picture frame. The original clip is the picture in that frame.

Sorry Jim but I disagree : a Precomp/Compound Clip is not a "picture frame", it should behave exactly like any piece of footage = not being cropped/clipped when used in a smaller timeline.

Via email BlackMagic Support told me they have been able to reproduce the issue.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 5562
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: BUG - Timelines/Compounds are getting cropped

PostTue Jan 28, 2020 2:49 pm

Antoine Grasset wrote:it should behave...


That's a separate discussion. I'm providing info on how it does work.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], oliwend, RedRider14, Shrinivas Ramani, timberthrax and 39 guests