Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostThu Feb 13, 2020 11:06 pm

Hello,

I'm building a new workstation (TRX40 / 3990X / 2 x Radeon VII) running Windows / Ubuntu with latest DaVinci version. I can't get working Ubuntu yet. When I run the candle benchmark:

With a single Radeon VII, I get 16 fps for the 66 nodes
With dual Radeon VII, I get 4 fps for the 66 nodes

Strange, isn't it? I can't find any explication. If I plug each card individually, each one gives 16 fps. So they're not deffective. By the way, I've enabled the HBCC on both because it seems adviced for good performances. Both cards run simultaneously at PCI x16 3.0.

Here is my DaVinci configuration:

Image

If I set GPU selection to "Auto", one of the card disappear:

Image

Any idea?

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7391
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostThu Feb 13, 2020 11:34 pm

turn [use gpu display for compute] on - try again
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.1.2.026
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostThu Feb 13, 2020 11:49 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:turn [use gpu display for compute] on - try again

I've tried it, no change.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7391
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 1:08 am

Lucius Snow wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:turn [use gpu display for compute] on - try again

I've tried it, no change.


1) does shows now 2 GPU?
2) do you have any sort of SLI configuration?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.1.2.026
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 1:45 am

Yes it shows both. No SLI configuration. The others configurations I tried, withtout any success (still 4 fps):

Image

Image

And I'm getting back 16 fps with this configuration (so 2 cards are plugged in, but only one activated in Resolve):

Image

And now the results with the Blackmagic RAW test :

1 card:

Image

2 cards:

Image

It all seems contradictory.
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 6:23 pm

Can someone at BMD explain how the Benchmark RAW speed test can give a such different results than Resolve itself?

RAW speed test take in consideration the two cards.

Thanks.
Offline

mpetech

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:52 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 7:02 pm

Is there a way to reduce the amount of CPU cores? Maybe down to 32 cores? Then rerun the test.
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 7:05 pm

mpetech wrote:Is there a way to reduce the amount of CPU cores? Maybe down to 32 cores? Then rerun the test.

Maybe but I don't know how to do. Anyway, I need the full performances of the CPU.
Offline

mpetech

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:52 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 8:58 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:
mpetech wrote:Is there a way to reduce the amount of CPU cores? Maybe down to 32 cores? Then rerun the test.

Maybe but I don't know how to do. Anyway, I need the full performances of the CPU.


I know. There was a known issue with AMD CPUs with MS CPU scheduler not working well together. Just wanted to see if the CPU is causing a bottleneck with the dual GPU.

Also, what kind of cooling do you have on the GPU? Direct fan or blower style or liquid cooling?
Can you run the dual GPU test for extended loop? Does the number get progressively worse?
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 9:29 pm

Lucius Snow wrote: I've enabled the HBCC on both


Hi.

First the easy suggestion: I don't know how much RAM you got. But I expect 2 Times HBCC will require many additional GB of RAM.
So my suggestion will be, to try to disable HBCC on both.

I don't know which version of Windows 10 you are using. But the normal Windows 10 Pro, can only use max 64 threads pr processor groups. Here is a link:

https://www.anandtech.com/show/15483/am ... x-review/3

Suggest you use Windows Pro for Workstations or Enterprise.

My next suggestion is to try Linux and see how it works out?
If it work much better in Linux, are the problem related to Windows.

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 10:59 pm

I've disabled SMT (AMD hyperthreading) in the BIOS to get 64 threads, no change.

I've disabled HBCC, no change.

I'm running Windows Enterprise LTSC version 1809. I've got 64 GB of RAM.

I'm trying to make Resolve working on Ubuntu 19.1 (sorry, I gave with CentOS... really too complicated OS). That's my goal since the beginning because I bought the Linux dongle (without the advanced panel) to get ProRes export with the 3990X. My Radeon VII seem properly installed but I have a weird bug which is maybe linked to the audio device. Please check the details here: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=56878&start=1650

I'm still finding a solution...
Offline

SylvestCorp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:19 pm
  • Real Name: Hans Christian Sylvest

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSat Feb 15, 2020 11:50 am

Hi
I gaveup running dual Radeon VII's on Tr3960x MSI Creator MP600 and samsung 970 EVO m.2's windows 10 Home, after 2 month of massive full system freezes.
The free version and a single card seem fine and i got another card and the studio version :-(

The constant system freezes and black screen during editing, idle and especialy rendering made me give
up hope.

Blackmagic support just stated you have to contact the grafic card provider after sending in logs.
Hope you get it up and running and please write down Resolve setup and Driver version. I have been through all combinations and i am now on a single RTX 2080 super (Studio driver) hoping a AMD driver release solves the issues because WHEN they are running they are super fast.
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSat Feb 15, 2020 2:45 pm

SylvestCorp wrote:Hi
I gaveup running dual Radeon VII's on Tr3960x MSI Creator MP600 and samsung 970 EVO m.2's windows 10 Home, after 2 month of massive full system freezes.
The free version and a single card seem fine and i got another card and the studio version :-(

The constant system freezes and black screen during editing, idle and especialy rendering made me give
up hope.

Blackmagic support just stated you have to contact the grafic card provider after sending in logs.
Hope you get it up and running and please write down Resolve setup and Driver version. I have been through all combinations and i am now on a single RTX 2080 super (Studio driver) hoping a AMD driver release solves the issues because WHEN they are running they are super fast.


Use before October 2019 drivers(before NAVI) and you're fine with the Radeon VII on Windows 10, for Linux check the Phoronix website and for Hackintosh they are pretty stable.
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSat Feb 15, 2020 5:01 pm

SylvestCorp wrote:Hi
I gaveup running dual Radeon VII's on Tr3960x MSI Creator MP600 and samsung 970 EVO m.2's windows 10 Home, after 2 month of massive full system freezes.
The free version and a single card seem fine and i got another card and the studio version :-(

The constant system freezes and black screen during editing, idle and especialy rendering made me give
up hope.

Blackmagic support just stated you have to contact the grafic card provider after sending in logs.
Hope you get it up and running and please write down Resolve setup and Driver version. I have been through all combinations and i am now on a single RTX 2080 super (Studio driver) hoping a AMD driver release solves the issues because WHEN they are running they are super fast.

I had the same probme with the latest drivers. The only stable ones I found are 19.11.3.
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSun Feb 16, 2020 1:22 am

I did the AMD support route, because i have similar problems. The asked me to contact blackmagic support because they do not know the architecture of resolve to fix the problem.
They still seem to not talk to each other to figure out the problem :(
Offline

mpetech

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:52 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSun Feb 16, 2020 3:06 am

Again, you never replied to my questions about the GPU model and cooling.
Can you post the exact brand and model you are using?
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSun Feb 16, 2020 5:57 pm

mpetech wrote:Again, you never replied to my questions about the GPU model and cooling.
Can you post the exact brand and model you are using?

Radeon VII with default air cooling.

I've finally got more success with CentOS. The exact same hardware / BIOS configuration give me 20 fps at the same Candle Benchmark (66 nodes) using both Radeon VII cards enabled with OpenCL.

So it's defintely a bug in Resolve - Windows version.
Offline

SylvestCorp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:19 pm
  • Real Name: Hans Christian Sylvest

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostSun Feb 16, 2020 8:03 pm

Anyone tried the Radeon PRO drivers? Or are they the same?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7391
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostMon Feb 17, 2020 2:39 am

slightly off topic, but I have a query:

That's my goal since the beginning because I bought the Linux dongle (without the advanced panel) to get ProRes export with the 3990X


did you bought the "advance" linux dongle? the one you get with the panel (the 30k one)? if not, you will not be able to export ProRes (it works only with the "advance" version).

if you do, how you where able to buy an Advance dongle (those only came with the panel) and not the panel? it's 30k new....
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.1.2.026
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

mpetech

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:52 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostMon Feb 17, 2020 6:16 am

Lucius Snow wrote:
mpetech wrote:Again, you never replied to my questions about the GPU model and cooling.
Can you post the exact brand and model you are using?

Radeon VII with default air cooling.

I've finally got more success with CentOS. The exact same hardware / BIOS configuration give me 20 fps at the same Candle Benchmark (66 nodes) using both Radeon VII cards enabled with OpenCL.

So it's defintely a bug in Resolve - Windows version.


My guess is still the combination of Windows CPU scheduler and cooling. Direct fan cooling is not great for dual GPU. It recycles hot air. You want blower style.
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostMon Feb 17, 2020 10:39 am

waltervolpatto wrote:slightly off topic, but I have a query:

That's my goal since the beginning because I bought the Linux dongle (without the advanced panel) to get ProRes export with the 3990X


did you bought the "advance" linux dongle? the one you get with the panel (the 30k one)? if not, you will not be able to export ProRes (it works only with the "advance" version).

if you do, how you where able to buy an Advance dongle (those only came with the panel) and not the panel? it's 30k new....

I could find the Linux dongle only on eBay.
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostMon Feb 17, 2020 10:41 am

mpetech wrote:
Lucius Snow wrote:
mpetech wrote:Again, you never replied to my questions about the GPU model and cooling.
Can you post the exact brand and model you are using?

Radeon VII with default air cooling.

I've finally got more success with CentOS. The exact same hardware / BIOS configuration give me 20 fps at the same Candle Benchmark (66 nodes) using both Radeon VII cards enabled with OpenCL.

So it's defintely a bug in Resolve - Windows version.


My guess is still the combination of Windows CPU scheduler and cooling. Direct fan cooling is not great for dual GPU. It recycles hot air. You want blower style.

Yes I know but I have a good case with 6 Noctua fan inside. The temps are not so bad.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7391
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostMon Feb 17, 2020 9:35 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:slightly off topic, but I have a query:

That's my goal since the beginning because I bought the Linux dongle (without the advanced panel) to get ProRes export with the 3990X


did you bought the "advance" linux dongle? the one you get with the panel (the 30k one)? if not, you will not be able to export ProRes (it works only with the "advance" version).

if you do, how you where able to buy an Advance dongle (those only came with the panel) and not the panel? it's 30k new....

I could find the Linux dongle only on eBay.


1) be aware, there are fake ones.
2) it could be a "normal" 299$ dongle that is sold as advanced.... hence, no ProRes...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.1.2.026
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

2D3D4K

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:29 am
  • Real Name: Barry Chall

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostTue Feb 18, 2020 12:56 am

New article posted today from Puget Systems regarding 3990x test results with Adobe Creative Cloud applications comparing Windows 10 Pro to Pro Workstation with SMT both on and off.
Interesting read.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic ... ance-1671/
Offline

mpetech

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:52 pm

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostTue Feb 18, 2020 2:06 am

Lucius Snow wrote:Yes I know but I have a good case with 6 Noctua fan inside. The temps are not so bad.


I have 5 fans in one of our custom PCs. With 2 blower style 2080ti (250W TDP), the performance slowly decreased. Run it long enough and you will see 20% + drop.
Radeon VII is 295W TDP per card.

Just test it. Easy to confirm. Run any test in loop and track the performance. Puget, BRAW test, etc.
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostTue Feb 18, 2020 2:39 am

2D3D4K wrote:New article posted today from Puget Systems regarding 3990x test results with Adobe Creative Cloud applications comparing Windows 10 Pro to Pro Workstation with SMT both on and off.


Hi.

AMD recommended testing with Windows 10 Pro OS build 18362.592 (or greater)
According to this link:

https://hothardware.com/news/threadripp ... t-fast-amd

But Puget Systems did not publish, the most interesting thing. The performance benefit running
the Threadripper 3990X on Linux. In the 2nd table in this link, you can see how the number of
Threadripper cores increases the advantage for Linux, compared to Windows:

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= ... inux&num=6

But I start wonder, how the Threadripper 3990X with dual Radion VII, will perform on a Hackintosh?
Where you also, will be able to get ProRes export.

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K
Offline

2D3D4K

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:29 am
  • Real Name: Barry Chall

Re: Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostTue Feb 18, 2020 3:25 am

Carsten Sellberg wrote:
2D3D4K wrote:New article posted today from Puget Systems regarding 3990x test results with Adobe Creative Cloud applications comparing Windows 10 Pro to Pro Workstation with SMT both on and off.


Where you also, will be able to get ProRes export.

Regards Carsten.

Hi Carsten,
I think you might have me confused with another commenter. I wasn't trying to get ProRes export.

Sounds like, as with all things computers, everything is inconsistent and some apps work better with one hardware and software configuration, and others work better with another, and just when you figure it out, it all changes. :)

Regards,
Barry
Offline

SylvestCorp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:19 pm
  • Real Name: Hans Christian Sylvest

Single Radeon VII faster than dual Radeon VII ?!

PostWed Feb 19, 2020 6:10 pm

SylvestCorp wrote:Anyone tried the Radeon PRO drivers? Or are they the same?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I have tried the driver only install from the pro driver and Windows 10 64bit pro All Seem to Works as long as hw decode/encode and debauer is off.There is no option now for multi gpu as there is only the driver, but stability Seem to be just fine. Dual Radeon VII has the exact same rendertime as a single Radeon VII card. 5:30 in a 18:38% load split. the RTX 2080 super was faster4:09 but there is something with the video quality for h.264 that i had to redo using h.265 master and the Dual Radeon VIIs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], NiccoQuinto, sujengsang and 42 guests