Page 1 of 1

Crash on startup

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:46 am
by Jesse Glucksman
Bit of a problem here...

Running DaVinci Resolve 10.0.2 (but just installed 10.0.1 but the problem persists) on my Mac running OSX 10.8.5. Have not had issues until just now.

I just started a project for a short film shot on Red. When I brought clips into the media pool, I got a warning saying the Decklink card is having a problem (I can't recall the exact wording).

I restarted the system, and now Resolve won't open. The box that pops up gets as far as "Starting up" or "Looking for control surface" (which I don't have) and then shuts down. I haven't done a full uninstall as I haven't backed up recently and a full uninstall makes me a bit jittery. Hope some of you are still awake...

If I have to do a full uninstall, what can I do to save all the work I have going on? Thanks.

(Edit: I uninstalled and reinstalled 9.1.6 with the same issue. Re-re-installed 10.0.2, no change. Possibly this is a result of a problem with my Decklink SDI card? Would an issue with the video card prevent Resolve from even opening? Please help--I'm high & dry here.)

I even went ahead and bought a new Decklink SDI card, assuming my old one was broken. Still nothing. New card, same problem. I'm in trouble. Anyone have any suggestions?

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:40 pm
by Dwaine Maggart
Does removing the DeckLink card make the issue go away?

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:57 pm
by Jesse Glucksman
Dwaine Maggart wrote:Does removing the DeckLink card make the issue go away?


Mark Thompson figured it out-it was my config.dat file. Removing/replacing the card didn't change anything so he narrowed down on that & advised me to swap it with the config.dat.bak file. Everything seems to be running fine since then.

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:59 am
by Roel van Hoorn
Hi all,

I´m having the same problem with file version 14.0.1008.0. I tried to find a solution online, but with no result. I´m using the following hardware:

Processor: Intel Core i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40 GHz
Installed Memory: 4,00 GB
System type: 64-bit

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:47 pm
by Dwaine Maggart
What is your exact problem?

4GB of system RAM is not enough to run Resolve.

8GB is the minimum, and 16GB or more is recommended

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:00 am
by Roel van Hoorn
Dwaine Maggart wrote:What is your exact problem?

4GB of system RAM is not enough to run Resolve.

8GB is the minimum, and 16GB or more is recommended


One of my problems might be the low RAM, but the other problem is that when I try to start the program. It tries to start, but then gets shut down.

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:14 am
by Dwaine Maggart
If you could provide the data discussed in the following thread, that would be helpful:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54509

To get the Resolve logs, assuming you can't launch Resolve to utilize the Help menu create diagnostic logs selection, and also assuming you are on Windows, in a File Explorer window, go here and run CaptureLogs:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:36 am
by Roel van Hoorn
Thanks Dwaine,

I tried, but the file seems to be to big and I get an error code: 413 Request Entity Too Large. What can I do next?

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:00 pm
by Dwaine Maggart
Is the issue with attaching the file to the forum post?

You'll need to put the file on a file sharing site and provide a link to the file.

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:16 am
by Roel van Hoorn
Please find the link below:

https://we.tl/bVvGyBJfv3

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:10 pm
by Dwaine Maggart
Your Intel HD Graphics 4600 GPU is apparently not adequate to run Resolve 14.

Re: Crash on startup

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:23 am
by Vassilis Kontodimas
Funny thing is that I get exactly the same. In the past I couldn't see the panel fade-in (it was invisible), but I got through that.
Now at least I know where it's getting stuck at.

The card is an AMD RX480 8GB and it passes the OpenCL initialization.