Newbie question-using Davinci Resolve Lite 9 w/ FCPX

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

JDLee

Newbie question-using Davinci Resolve Lite 9 w/ FCPX

PostWed Nov 07, 2012 11:24 pm

I am brand new to Resolve Lite, and starting out with version 9. I know a fair amount about FCPX, but I'm no expert.

I downloaded Resolve Lite thinking it would operate within FCPX, like an effect. Having watched a basic tutorial about it, I now understand it operates independently.

I'm wondering how this works. I take it you can do the Resolve Lite adjustments to your clips from your camera before you edit them into a project in FCPX, or that you can finish your project in FCPX and then edit the color in Resolve Lite.

But, either way it seems you would be losing some quality. I mean, isn't it like editing a picture in that every time you make changes to it and save it you are reducing its quality? I read something about XML files, but I can't find a lot of information. The company whose tutorials I buy for FCPX has a Resolve tutorial, but it is for version 8.

For my purposes, since I use stationary cameras without lighting changes, it would be easier to make changes to the clips in my Event browser before I start putting them in a project.

If it matters, I my camera creates AVCHD files and I then optimize those in FCPX upon import (also creating proxy files).

Any advice is appreciated.

Darren Abate

Re: Newbie question-using Davinci Resolve Lite 9 w/ FCPX

PostThu Nov 08, 2012 2:41 am

You might have a problem taking your optimized AVCHD files from FCPX to Resolve, and here's why. I only know this because it's a problem I have with it every time...