Problem importing XML from FCPX

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostThu Apr 02, 2015 2:03 pm

Ok well...this for me is too much. I can't work this way.

Since September doesn't work anymore the impor xml from fcpx.
I hoped blackmagicdesign solved this problem but still existing.

I tried any type of xml importing but ALL doesn't work: the clips are not linked (timecode mismatch). When you think to solve the bug? I spoke with MANY people and everyone said same thing.

The only way to reconnect the clips is force conform manually, clip per clip.

ps: when I start in Davinci with dng files and then I export xml first time in davinci for editing, and I try to move the clips, it appears a message which says that if I move the clips I lose links with the source. Maybe is a Library problem also?

Please I can't work so anymore.
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 03, 2015 8:08 pm

solutions??
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostSat Apr 04, 2015 12:21 am

It seems that it works for everybody else. If you need help you should detail your software versions and a detailed step by step explanation of your workflow. Without that, we really don't know what you are doing.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostSun Apr 05, 2015 10:14 pm

I have last update about fcpx and davinci.

1) I start importing dng into resolve
2) I export xml and prores
3) I import xml into fcpx. There is not any clip in browser but only in the storyline and If try to move the clips, it appears a message which says that if I move the clips I lose links with the source.
4) when I export xml from fcpx and import in davinci, there is a timecode mismatch error and the only way to reconnect the clips is force conform manually.

Do you need others passages also, Peter?
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostTue Apr 07, 2015 12:52 am

Can you post a dng clip for me to test? Which camera are you shooting with?
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostTue Apr 07, 2015 3:16 am

OK, I think I know your problem. Your workflow is not correct.

First of all, where are you in Italia? Italia is my favourite country in the world! Viva Italia!

1. Import Cinema DNG files into DAVINCI RESOLVE first.
2. Export ProRes Quicktime movies. Make sure you export with audio and source timecode options in the Deliver page. Also check that you export as individual clips. ALSO CHECK FRAME SIZE IS CORRECT.
3. Import clips to FCPX in the normal way, do not use xml from Resolve. You can leave the clips in place or import to FCPX library. I prefer to leave them in place.
4. Edit your project in FCPX.
5. Export project XML FROM FCPX.
6. Import new FCPX Project XML into Resolve. Do not import media to Media Pool. ALSO CHECK FRAME SIZE IS CORRECT.
7. The new timeline should now reference your original Cinema DNG files ready for grading.

I hope this works for you, as it does for me.

I spent quite a lot of time in Roma, Torino and Trento. Ahhh... I can smell the coffee from here....CIAO.
Last edited by Peter Cave on Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostSat Apr 11, 2015 1:37 pm

Hi Peter, i'm came back after many attempts.

This is my procedure, you can see in the screenshot (you must start from below)
Attachments
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.23.06 copy.jpg
Importing Prores into FCPX and then export xml
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.23.06 copy.jpg (369.87 KiB) Viewed 5356 times
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.24.22.png
Exporting from Davinci
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.24.22.png (148.1 KiB) Viewed 5356 times
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.22.30 copy.jpg
Import Cinema DNG
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.22.30 copy.jpg (424.09 KiB) Viewed 5356 times
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostSat Apr 11, 2015 1:43 pm

Second screenshots part (from below always).

As you can see, i have done your action list, point by point but anyway, i have this problem.

Do I wrong anything?

ps: I'm happy you like Italy, i come from Sicily :-)
Attachments
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.23.56.png
error after xml importing into resolve
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.23.56.png (769.32 KiB) Viewed 5356 times
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.23.36 copy.jpg
Import xml into Resolve
Schermata 2015-04-11 alle 11.23.36 copy.jpg (451.8 KiB) Viewed 5356 times
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostMon Apr 13, 2015 8:31 am

Maybe when I import xml in Resolve, Do i create a new project first?

At the moment I import xml in the old project, the same in which import dng.
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 17, 2015 8:11 am

no answer? :(
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 17, 2015 10:46 am

Your screen grabs are confusing.
I have edited my instructions so they are more detailed. Please read VERY carefully.

Screen grabs do not detail your process well enough for me to see what you are doing.
The frame size is set to 'custom' for import to Resolve. Why?

Try again and if it does not work you will need to be very detailed in your process so I can find the problem.
It seems to me that you may need to do some Resolve training course.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 17, 2015 11:38 am

I've done frame size "custom" because I need to set 1920*818 (magic lantern raw video).

I retry you instructions now.
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 17, 2015 12:03 pm

Sounds like you have an odd camera format. If you post a clip or two in original camera format that I can download I'll try to solve your issue. With CinemaDNG format in normal HD frame sizes everything works ok.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostWed Apr 22, 2015 10:44 am

Hi Faringam,

Thanks for the clip. It works perfectly for me. I have updated instructions below.


1. Import Cinema DNG files into DAVINCI RESOLVE first.
Set the Resolve project timeline preferences to your Magic Lantern clip settings (1920 x 818 24fps) BEFORE you import the clips. This is important.
2. Export ProRes Quicktime movies (1920 x 818 24fps) for editing in FCPX. Make sure you export with audio and source timecode options in the Deliver page. Also check that you export as individual clips. ALSO CHECK FRAME SIZE IS CORRECT.
3. Import clips to FCPX in the normal way, do not use xml from Resolve. You can leave the clips in place or import to FCPX library. I prefer to leave them in place.
make a FCPX Timeline project with custom (1920 x 818 24fps) settings for editing.
4. Edit your project in FCPX.
5. Export project XML FROM FCPX.
6. Import new FCPX Project XML into the same Resolve project you set up previously. Do not import media to Media Pool. ALSO CHECK FRAME SIZE IS CORRECT (1920 x 818 24fps).
7. The new timeline should now reference your original Cinema DNG files ready for grading.

I hope this works for you, as it does for me.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostThu Apr 23, 2015 7:52 pm

ok, now i will try! thx
Offline
User avatar

Ludovico Bettarello

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:00 pm
  • Location: Rome , Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostThu Apr 23, 2015 9:03 pm

@Peter Cave nice workflow :-)
-
L.
_____ vimeo.com/znortvj _____
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostThu Apr 23, 2015 10:53 pm

Thanks Ludovico, I wish I could be in Roma right now! I was offered a job in Trento at a local TV station many years ago but ended up working in Singapore instead. I have many fond memories of Italia. Ciao.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Fabio Schifilliti

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:39 am
  • Location: Italy

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 24, 2015 10:00 am

Hi Peter, now it works perfectly! I don't know what i did before, i remember was the same workflow! Thank you very much :mrgreen:
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Problem importing XML from FCPX

PostFri Apr 24, 2015 10:20 am

I'm glad I could help. Good luck with your work. I hope I can visit Italia again sometime.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aussiemartin, Bing [Bot], Michael_Andreas, Peter Cave and 45 guests