Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ben Stewart

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:11 pm

Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

PostWed Apr 22, 2015 8:15 pm

New to DaVinci Resolve & forum posting in general. I've got a new computer with an i7 5820k 6 core CPU and a Nvidia GeForce 970 GPU, 16gb of 2400mhz ram and 1TB SSD. When rendering my ProRes file after grading I'm only getting 11fps. DaVinci is using only 5% of my GPU and 13% of my CPU. Any idea s to how I can solve this?

Thanks for your help
Offline

Peter_r

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:46 am

Re: Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

PostWed Apr 22, 2015 11:52 pm

Which operating system are you running, it sounds like a PC, but you are rendering to ProRes, so I am confused.

The usual things to check, make sure you have the 'Use GUI GPU for Compute' option ticked, run the BMD Disc Speed test to make sure your SSD is not playing up.
If you are on a Mac, make sure you have the correct CUDA drivers loaded.
Offline

Ben Stewart

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:11 pm

Re: Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

PostThu Apr 23, 2015 2:16 pm

I'm on Windows 8 but I recorded in ProRes and am keeping it at that for the time being. I don't have the 'Use GUI GPU for Compute' under the "Video I/O and GPU" menu. Am I missing something?
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

PostThu Apr 23, 2015 9:55 pm

I'm pretty sure that option only shows up if you have more than 1 GPU in your system
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

Peter_r

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:46 am

Re: Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

PostFri Apr 24, 2015 12:48 am

Nope. The option shows up on my machine with just one GPU, the option should be there.

Have a look under the system info tab in the same place and check that your GPU card is being recognised.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Powerful Computer - Slow Render Porblem

PostFri Apr 24, 2015 6:18 am

Doesn't show up on any of the systems I install resolve on that only have 1 GPU in Win 7 or 8.1, doesn't seem logical that it would as you have no choice if you only have 1 GPU.

And yes the GPU is being recognized

Seems to be a difference between Full and lite. Just installed the full version on the same system and now I get the option, but if I go back to the Lite version the option goes away
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alfabuster, aussiemartin, Greg Agiannidis, Joseph Choi, psychodusk, Singularity, TomasM and 51 guests