Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostTue Jul 28, 2015 8:28 pm

Hi Guys, was wondering if the Artist Panel will work with the beta 12 version, I installed the beta this morning, and as of yesterday my panel was working fine on 11, but today no response. Am I missing something? Is there a new way to connect?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostWed Jul 29, 2015 11:37 pm

Windows or Mac?

What OS version?

What Eucon version?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5917
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostThu Jul 30, 2015 12:23 am

I have successfully used the Avid Artist Panel with the Resolve 12.0 Beta on a project, using Eucon 3.2.1 and Mac OSX 10.10.3. No issues thus far -- aside from getting used to the new interface.

The program is very fast and responsive, and it's clear to me they worked quite a bit on speeding up the Edit page performance.

No further panel remapping that I can see -- it's the same as it was in v11.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostThu Jul 30, 2015 2:29 pm

Mac OS 10.9.5

Avid artist Color with Eucon 3.2.2.

I have it connected properly because I can use it in AVID via the Baselight Plugin, so I know it works. Just can't get Resolve to see it.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostThu Jul 30, 2015 4:53 pm

It may be an issue of not using the required Resolve 12 OSX version.

I'll do a test of that Eucon version with Yosemite, and if that works, I'll see if I can do a test under Mavericks.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostThu Jul 30, 2015 4:54 pm

Awesome, thanks!! Yeah we haven't bumped up yet, but would be interested to see if that was it
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 1886
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostThu Jul 30, 2015 5:48 pm

Mike Nuget wrote:Mac OS 10.9.5

Avid artist Color with Eucon 3.2.2.

I have it connected properly because I can use it in AVID via the Baselight Plugin, so I know it works. Just can't get Resolve to see it.
with BLE you have to remove it from eucon, did you remember to add it back into active surfaces in eu before starting Resolve?

i have first hand experience on this brainfade....
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostThu Jul 30, 2015 5:59 pm

Funny thing is for some reason I can not drag and drop programs into the EuControl, like used to be able to. With that said, with Version 11, I was able to just launch AVID and the BL-Plugin, set the preferences to the AVID panel, and restart, worked.

Then launched Resolve, set the prefs for the panel, restarted and it worked as well.

Since moving to 12, I did the same thing and again in the AVID BL-Plugin, Im all good, but Resolve is a no go.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostFri Jul 31, 2015 2:15 am

I have tested on a 5,1 MacPro with the Artist panel on Ethernet 2 with a fixed IP.

Works in OSX 10.9.5 and 10.10.4.

Works in both OS versions with Eucon 3.1.2 / Panel FW 1.1.8 and Eucon 3.2.2 / Panel FW 1.1.10

Works with Resolve 11.3.1 and Resolve 12 beta.

I don't have anything in the Eucon Application List.

As a sanity check, you DO have the thin rectangles on the Artist display, but no Resolve menus when you launch Resolve?

You don't have some other app controlling the panel, do you?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5917
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostFri Jul 31, 2015 2:38 am

You can highlight Resolve in the Eucon Application list, and I think all that does is "freezes" the controls so that if you change your main screen to look at another program, the Avid Artist controller doesn't try to change what it's doing and stays locked to Resolve.

Sorting out Eucon with the Mac OSX Firewall permissions thing is a royal pain, but it can be done.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 8:55 pm

So now I've even tried rolling back to Resolve 11 with no progress. I have released it from the AVID Baselight plug-in, and still nothing.

Dwaine Maggart wrote:
As a sanity check, you DO have the thin rectangles on the Artist display, but no Resolve menus when you launch Resolve?

You don't have some other app controlling the panel, do you?


Funny you mentioned this because I do not have the rectangle boxes, it stays with the AVID logo the whole time.

When I was connected to the BL Plug-in, it had the AVID logo until I activated the Plug in then switched to the BL attributes.

I feel like it's not letting go of something, but can't seem to figure it out
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 8:59 pm

If you don't have the rectangles, then the panel is not communicating with the Eucon app, and you'll need to sort that out before Resolve will work.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 9:01 pm

Wow thanks for the quick response, that's kind of what I was thinking, but weird that it works fine in AVID and the BL Plugin
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 9:21 pm

If that's true, it would mean that those apps are directly talking to the panel without going though Eucon. And that seems unlikely to me, but I don't know for sure.

At the top of the display, is the Eucon E in the circle grayed out, or active?

If you open the Eucontrol Settings window, do you see the Artist panel in both the All Surfaces column and the My Surfaces column?

If the E icon is active, and you see the panel in the Surfaces area, then you should see the rectangles on the panel.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Mike Nuget

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta with Avid Artist Panel

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 10:09 pm

OK good news, we got it!!! whew, Here are our findings. basically in order for the panel to be recognized in Resolve, we have to have the EuControl software running simultaneously. Whereas, with the AVID and BL plugin, you do not.

We tried many different variations of these two scenarios and it seems that this is the answer.

We are assuming that it's because it is an AVID product and therefore communicates with AVID without the need for any 3rd party software.

But to answer your question, the "E" is greyed out, and when opening the EuControl settings, it doesn't matter whether or not the panel is listed at all when in the AVID, but when in Resolve, once you open up the EuControl, it connects, and the panel automatically lists itself in both columns as well as seeing the computer name in the workstations tab.


Thank you so much for all your help!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, Bazzikaster, Dan LaSusa, Freddy Abendanon, Rakesh Malik and 81 guests