Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 617
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 5:24 am

I hope this is the right place in the forum to leave Beta2 feedback.
The announcement posting is locked and doesn't name a forum or thread to use for feedback.

The new features state "Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows".
However with a "MacBook Pro (13 Zoll, Ende 2011)" and "Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB"
(the last hardware that still supports mechanical HDDs big enough for preparing
footage on the train AND fitting the tiny tables on German high speed trains)
it complains about "No OpenCL hardware found" and then CRASHES as soon as any
kind of footage is opened.


Since there is the inevitable, annoying reply of having to use current or desktop hardware:
Yes, I'm using a 4 year old laptop.
Yes, I know it's going to be terribly slow and I don't care.
Yet I'd really like to ingest and sort footage or export intermediates with tiny modifications on a train ride before doing the actual work on a stationary workstation.
Even if I where to pay the extreme prices for Apple soldered-in memory, current MacBooks
no longer offer mechanical disks. There is no space in these trains for external drives.
The latest laptops don't even offer more then 1 USB port and no thunderbolt2 port
(singular, since it must be the 13" one)
for connecting my existing desktop hardware without a rat's nest of a dozen adaptors.
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1126
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 6:05 am

https://support.apple.com/en-sg/HT202823

Looks like your Mac does not support any OpenCL. Resolve needs CUDA 2.0 or OpenCL 1.2 capable device.

Please refer to our configuration guide for more details:

http://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/D ... _Guide.pdf

"While performance varies greatly, most modern AMD, Intel and NVIDIA GPUs that support OpenCL 1.2 or CUDA 2.0 compute capability will operate with DaVinci Resolve."
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 617
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 6:30 am

So "Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows" means
"Intel HD Graphics 4000, 5000 and 6000 but not 1000 2000 and 3000"
That's a very misleading feature-description.

Also your error-message should be changed and state "OpenCL 1.2" and not "OpenCL"
and it should exit the application gracefully and not let the user progress to a point where it will crash.
Offline

Jay Batchelor

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:55 pm

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 7:07 am

I'm also wondering too.

I have Intel HD Graphics with OpenCL 1.2 support on a Windows 8.1 PC, and it had Resolve 12 beta 1 crash on me.

Would Resolve work with regular Intel HD Graphics w O-CL 1.2?

Thanks
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1126
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 7:32 am

MarcusWolschon wrote:So "Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows" means
"Intel HD Graphics 4000, 5000 and 6000 but not 1000 2000 and 3000"
That's a very misleading feature-description.

Also your error-message should be changed and state "OpenCL 1.2" and not "OpenCL"
and it should exit the application gracefully and not let the user progress to a point where it will crash.


Please see our configuration guide for detailed hardware requirements.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 617
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 7:45 am

Rohit Gupta wrote:
MarcusWolschon wrote:So "Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows" means
"Intel HD Graphics 4000, 5000 and 6000 but not 1000 2000 and 3000"
That's a very misleading feature-description.

Also your error-message should be changed and state "OpenCL 1.2" and not "OpenCL"
and it should exit the application gracefully and not let the user progress to a point where it will crash.


Please see our configuration guide for detailed hardware requirements.



This is not a support question but feedback to improve Beta2.
Your reply-textblock is also incorrect. (see [a] )

a)
http://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/D ... _Guide.pdf
Does not list any version numbers for Intel Iris at all. It stated that "Intel Iris graphics" should work with some limitations. This is wrong or at least incomplete.
"The 2014 and older models with NVIDIA GPU and Iris or Iris Pro will also support HD and limited UHD
processing and due to the GPU limitations. They are not optimized for optical flow speed changes, temporal
processing and noise reduction work. "
This states that a 2011 laptop will work. It will be slow but it doesn't crash.
Obviously this statement is wrong. Not only misleading but plain wrong.

Suggestion: State the minimum hardware Generation of Intel Iris that works at all.

b)
Your error-message should be changed and state "OpenCL 1.2" and not "OpenCL".
For users with OpenCL 1.0 or 1.1 compatible graphics cards this is highly misleading.

c)
The application should always exit gracefully and never let the user progress to a point where it will crash.
Ever!
Even after displaying the above mentioned error message and letting the user progress anyway.
This is very poor user experience.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 8:41 am

But the guide does quite clearly state
While performance varies greatly, most modern AMD, Intel and NVIDIA GPUs that support OpenCL 1.2 or CUDA 2.0 compute capability will operate with DaVinci Resolve
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 617
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 8:47 am

Adam Simmons wrote:But the guide does quite clearly state
While performance varies greatly, most modern AMD, Intel and NVIDIA GPUs that support OpenCL 1.2 or CUDA 2.0 compute capability will operate with DaVinci Resolve


Okay, I missed that line. I only searched the entire document for "Iris".
While a simple table giving plain minimum hardware requirements would be nice,
I guess reading the entire document to find that like will have to do.
2 suggestions remaining.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 8:49 am

It's on the first page of the section called "Guidelines for selecting your OS and system hardware"
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline
User avatar

Simon Dayan

  • Posts: 156
  • Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:39 am
  • Location: West Hollywood, Los Angeles,CA

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 9:08 am

works good on my MacBook Pro (Mid 2014) :)
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 9:34 am

Of course it will as yours uses a 4000 or later which supports OpenCl 1.2
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 617
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 9:40 am

I guess the only option for a Macbook with mechanical HDD (1TB or larger) that is supported by Resolve is a Hackingtosh, ist it?
It's a shame as I'm editing 8 camera FullHD Multicam projects in FCPX on the train with the old one.
I just can't run resolve to generate updated, graded intermediates that I'm doing the editing on.
Offline
User avatar

Simon Dayan

  • Posts: 156
  • Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:39 am
  • Location: West Hollywood, Los Angeles,CA

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 10:16 am

No Soup For You!
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 10:20 am

MarcusWolschon wrote:I guess the only option for a Macbook with mechanical HDD (1TB or larger) that is supported by Resolve is a Hackingtosh, ist it?
It's a shame as I'm editing 8 camera FullHD Multicam projects in FCPX on the train with the old one.
I just can't run resolve to generate updated, graded intermediates that I'm doing the editing on.
That's because FCPX will be using proxy files on the laptop. Don't expect that kind of performance on an Intel GPU when using Resolve
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 617
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Resolve 12b2 - Intel GPU support on Mac and Windows

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 11:36 am

Adam Simmons wrote:
MarcusWolschon wrote:I guess the only option for a Macbook with mechanical HDD (1TB or larger) that is supported by Resolve is a Hackingtosh, ist it?
It's a shame as I'm editing 8 camera FullHD Multicam projects in FCPX on the train with the old one.
I just can't run resolve to generate updated, graded intermediates that I'm doing the editing on.
That's because FCPX will be using proxy files on the laptop. Don't expect that kind of performance on an Intel GPU when using Resolve


Performance doesn't matter.
Usually the wish is just to ingest and organize the footage on the train ride back home after a shot.
Not to actually grade it (the monitor isn't up to that job anyway).

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Greg Agiannidis, Jeff Brass, Jrijken, Sergey Mirontsev and 41 guests