Taking advantage of high and low lights in RAW

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

André Klotzel

Taking advantage of high and low lights in RAW

PostSat Sep 19, 2015 1:12 am

I'm a filmmaker and not properly a DP. Using a BMPCC for "visual notes" and perhaps doing some kind of personal work. Always shoot in RAW, go to Davinci to make proxies for viewing and editing (if I some time will do some serious output certainly shall color grade again with a professional).
For these proxies I generally only deal with the camera settings and don't play around too much with the real power features of Davinci. But get a little frustrated because can't extract all the information contained in low and high lights of a shot. When lowering the highlights down to -100 and doing a lift of the shadows up to +100, can see, by going up and down with exposure, that there is more information left behind, that is in the original RAW but can't really put it all in one image. Have to make an option between loosing info in high or low lights that are in the RAW but can't output.
Went through the manual but couldn't figure out how to take full advantage of the dynamic range (I'm currently working with the ACES 1.0 color science). My doubt is if this lost information can only be retrieved through a more complex operation of masks and overlays for the high and low lights, or if I'm missing something and it would be possible to retrieve it all in this first process of doing proxy dailies.

Uli Plank

Re: Taking advantage of high and low lights in RAW

PostSat Sep 19, 2015 1:16 am

You need to understand that all current display technologies can't reproduce what good cameras are capable to record. Consequently, all grading is a creative decision what to show to the audience and what to loose.