DNG RAW to FCPx?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mark Thorpe

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:03 am
  • Location: Japan

DNG RAW to FCPx?

PostMon Feb 15, 2016 1:32 am

Hi Guys,
Sorry of this has been covered before but I didn't find an exact same machine as mine with the issue. Have been shooting these last couple of days with a cameraman that came up from Okinawa. He was shooting DNG RAW on the BMPCC for a short product promo piece.

Anyway I have a late 2013 iMac 27" currently running OS X El Capitan ver. 10.11.12 with a 3.2GHz Intel Core i5 processor. RAM Wise it has 8GB 1600 MHz DDR3 and an NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB GPU.

So the cameraman passed over the first footage clips which I realized I wouldn't be able to work directly in FCPx, my preferred NLE option, so I downloaded DaVinci Resolve in order to do a basic grade and output to ProRes HQ 4444. Thing is I keep getting an error message when I select a clip which plays back looking like a crazy Neon glowing pattern

GPU Memory is full, try reducing the resolution of your timeline or reducing the number of correctors?

Just wondering what that means and if it is something to do with incompatible system with regards to the age of my computer and the hardware?

If it is the latter what is going to be my best solution for getting this footage into a workable option for this machine and FCPx?

Cheers,
Mark.
"A man is only as big as the dreams he dares to live"
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3662
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: DNG RAW to FCPx?

PostMon Feb 15, 2016 2:49 am

I'm sorry to tell you that it's your VRAM (the memory in the graphics card), which can't be upgraded.

Try to borrow/rent any machine with at least 2 GB VRAM to do the conversion. If it's a PC, use DNxHD instead of ProRes, it is readable on a Mac too.

Once converted, you may be barely able to work on your machine, but make a test first. If you do a first grade before conversion, a 422 HQ format would further reduce the load.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Mark Thorpe

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:03 am
  • Location: Japan

Re: DNG RAW to FCPx?

PostMon Feb 15, 2016 1:32 pm

Hey thanks for the response, appreciated.
"A man is only as big as the dreams he dares to live"

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ed Rudolph, Jamie LeJeune, Marc Salvatore, michael vorberg, Vincent Larsson, waltervolpatto and 44 guests