Simple Quick White Balance Method

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Adam Berch

Simple Quick White Balance Method

PostTue Apr 05, 2016 4:26 pm

I am very new to DaVinci Resolve. I have version 12.

I want to do a simple white balance to the picture below. Are there are tutorials or videos that I can look at to do that? Is there a one button simple method in DaVinci to do a simple white balance?

Thanks in advance
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 12.21.32 PM copy.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 12.21.32 PM copy.jpg (216.59 KiB) Viewed 3163 times

waltervolpatto

• Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Simple Quick White Balance Method

PostTue Apr 05, 2016 7:30 pm

are you looking for a mathematical way out just to make it looming right?
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 18.5.1 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio

JPOwens

PostTue Apr 05, 2016 8:28 pm

Also addressed on Creative Cow Resolve.

There is an AWB with cursor integration when you are operating a Resolve(TM) control surface, but otherwise [Option-A] does an overall R=G=B with respect to the highest and lowest values in the image. This will not work for your sample as it is here represented.

White balance by itself is nearly worthless as a grade objective anyway.

jPo

Andrew Kolakowski

PostTue Apr 05, 2016 8:45 pm

In some software it's 1 click, but no idea how you do it in Resolve.

Dermot Shane

PostTue Apr 05, 2016 10:52 pm

i built a macro that's mapped to my XKeys for another colorist who uses my suite for a reality show, he's happy with the resualts;

1- trigger - color / presets / chroma light (mapped to keyboard shortcut)
2 - re-set sat values to default (mouse capture; click on "color wheels", click on "primairy wheels", click on "sat", type in "50", hit "enter")