Grey bars and poor playback

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Najeeb Arshad

Grey bars and poor playback

PostSun Apr 10, 2016 3:40 pm

Hi

This is my first time using resolve and I've started editing and I've run into some issues.

Firstly, whenever I add footage to the timeline, or just play the footage back, these horizontal grey bars appear on the footage, usually at the beginning and end of the clips. If I extend or cut the length of the clips, the grey bars appear at the new beginning of a clip. I rendered the footage to see if they would appear in the final output and they do. And I'm not sure why or where they're coming from because if I just playback the footage in a media player on my computer, the footage is fine.

Also, if I put two pieces of footage together and add a cross dissolve, the footage becomes choppy at the point of the dissolve and this is also present in the rendered output.

Why is this happening and what can I do to fix this, I'd like to get on with editing smoothly!

My System Specs:

i5 6600
16GB Ram
Geforce 960 GTX 4GB

Najeeb Arshad

Re: Grey bars and poor playback

PostTue Apr 12, 2016 11:33 pm

Does anyone have any ideas as to what's causing this/what I can do to fix this? I feel like it might be timeline or project settings but I'm not familiar with resolve at this point.

Jeff Brass

PostWed Apr 13, 2016 3:21 am

can you give us some detail n the file format? if its h264 (ie from a dslr etc) then yeah, thats hard work on resolve. Best to transcode into DNxHD

would be good also to see a screenshot of the grey bars, would help in trying to work out whats happening
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2

Najeeb Arshad

PostWed Apr 13, 2016 6:38 pm

Jeff Brass wrote:can you give us some detail n the file format? if its h264 (ie from a dslr etc) then yeah, thats hard work on resolve. Best to transcode into DNxHD