Learning Sources

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Nigel King

Learning Sources

PostSun Apr 10, 2016 5:46 pm

I'm am brand new to DavRes12 and would like to learn. I'm new to the whole video editing thing to be fair. Are there any good online sources for tutorials or is there a manual to download for Resolve?

JPOwens

Re: Learning Sources

PostSun Apr 10, 2016 9:02 pm

Nigel King wrote:Are there any good online sources for tutorials or is there a manual to download for Resolve?

I think the appropriate phrase here would be "out the yin-yang." Ripple, Lynda, PLuralsight... and so on as third-party, with many many tutorials on NLE developers' websites, and of course the Resolve manual is part of the application/download. Inside Resolve, go to Help... and search.

jPo

Marc Wielage

PostMon Apr 11, 2016 2:03 am

Start with these:

Warren Eagles' FXPHD Resolve Tutorials:
https://www.fxphd.com/store/fastforward ... damentals/

Alexis Van Hurkman's Resolve Tutorials:
http://www.rippletraining.com/categorie ... i-resolve/

Patrick Inhofer's Mixing Light Resolve Tutorial:
https://mixinglight.com/color-correctio ... tutorials/

I like all three for different reasons: Alexis' is very thorough and technical; Warren is very down-to-earth and provides practical examples; and Patrick goes into the basics and touches on non-obvious extras. Each does a very good job. I have not been as impressed by the other tutorials on the web, frequently done by people with dubious credentials.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Nigel King

PostMon Apr 11, 2016 3:31 pm

excellent, thanks for those, I will get straight on it. :D

EDIT: Great stuff there and very in depth is would seem. I was wanting to learn a bit just for home / leisure use, I already have a career ;) Its just the editing side of things I was hoping to pick up. I'll start with the manual. and see how that goes. Thx again.