GPU memory full warning

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Graeme Moodie

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:31 pm

GPU memory full warning

PostMon Apr 18, 2016 2:42 pm

I am a very new user and I was testing DR out.
I was simply trying to import single jpg frames into the media bin to use as placeholders on the timeline - to edit alongside a soundtrack, to create a visual storyboard or basic timing animatic [so to speak] for an animation I am working on.
However - the program becomes unstable and says the GPU cannot handle this.
Any clues as to why?

Image
Offline
User avatar

JP Perry

  • Posts: 294
  • Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 10:07 pm
  • Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: GPU memory full warning

PostMon Apr 18, 2016 8:45 pm

Which GPU are you running and with how much VRAM? Are you within the Resolve system requirements?
Gray Cat Films | www.graycatfilms.com
MacPro 12-core | GTX 980 | 32GB | Blackmagic DeckLink | Flanders CM170 | Tangent Ripple
MacPro 6-core | GTX 970 | 32GB
Offline

Graeme Moodie

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:31 pm

Re: GPU memory full warning

PostTue Apr 19, 2016 3:18 pm

I have an AMD Radeon R9 200 series 3072 MB GDDR5
I don't see on the Davinci website system requirements - do you have a link?
Offline

Graeme Moodie

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:31 pm

Re: GPU memory full warning

PostTue Apr 19, 2016 4:13 pm

Image

Blaine Russom

Re: GPU memory full warning

PostTue Apr 19, 2016 4:50 pm

I had this same issue with 12.2, luckily i just removed 3 of the 5 jpgs from my media pool that I wasn't using and the problem went away.
Offline

Graeme Moodie

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:31 pm

Re: GPU memory full warning

PostTue Apr 19, 2016 4:56 pm

Does Davinci normally have a problem with using images as acceptable media for the timeline? I would have thought that it wouldn't be too taxing for such an application. I know its meant for video footage editing /grading/coloring etc but i would have thought that it could handle a good number of pictures in the timeline too, if need be?

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Oyvind Stiauren, spencer_moshian and 83 guests