DaVinci setup in small studio

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Stephen Thomas

DaVinci setup in small studio

PostThu May 19, 2016 9:21 am

I've done a quick search on this, but couldn't find what I was looking for. Apologies in advance if this question is obvious, I'm quite new to DaVinci.

We currently use Premiere in our small animation studio. We use a NAS (FreeNAS) for working on projects, so we can all work with the same files at the same time etc. Premiere seems to be getting worse and worse lately, lots of really annoying bugs. On the other hand, DaVinci is getting better and better. I've used it for a couple of edits now and it's very slick. Hats off to the Blackmagic team.

Anyway, to the crux of this post. We need to be able to share projects from the NAS if we are to use DaVinci in our studio. The problem is, DaVinci stores projects in a local database, meaning we'd have edits for particular projects on specific machines, rather than everyone being able to access all of the edits. I know you can export an edit, but this seems to be a bit of a messy solution to me.

Would we need to go with the studio version of DaVinci to do what we want? If so, would we need a licence/dongle for each machine?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this, would really appreciate them.

JP Perry

Re: DaVinci setup in small studio

PostFri May 20, 2016 3:19 am

Yes, I believe you need the studio version for each workstation. Others can answer this with more certainty.

I am curious how you are getting enough throughput with a NAS for shared storage? What kind of media are you working with? I am also working in a small studio and wish there was an affordable solution to have two workstations working on the same project simultaneously.
Gray Cat Films | www.graycatfilms.com
MacPro 12-core | AMD RX 580 | 32GB | DeckLink Mini | Flanders CM170 | Tangent Ripple | OS X Mojave

Stephen Thomas