Total NOOB question re: 2009 Mac Pro

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Alan Thatcher

Total NOOB question re: 2009 Mac Pro

PostThu Aug 04, 2016 7:22 pm

Hi everyone, long time listener...okay that's not really true. This is going to seem like super basic stuff but bear with me.

I am a veteran DP, and have worked closely with colorists since I began shooting commercials in the 80s. I just did a three day workshop with Warren Eagles on Resolve, as I thought it was time I brought my own understanding of CC up to date and up to speed. GREAT WORKSHOP by the way. I don't intend to become a pro colorist, but on the jobs, more frequent every year, where my work is getting a minimal CC by an editor, or none at all (!) I'd like to be able to at least suggest and show an option. And for those times when we're doing a 'real' CC in a dedicated room I'd like to 'speak the language' and understand more of the process.

So...a few years ago I installed Resolve 10 on my 2009 Mac Pro 4.1, and did some very crude work with it, but today I tried to open it and the projects I was working on earlier this week, and it crashes. I got the 'CUDA acceleration missing' error, but the crash didn't happen until I tried to bring some files (Sony XAVC) into the media folder, and that has happened consistently. Aargh---I really wanted to get back into those projects!

The Mac Pro has its original graphics card, an NVIDIA GTX 120, 512mb, which I know is inadequate for newer versions of Resolve. It did work in the past though. I updated its driver, but that's only good for CUDA 5. Only change I can think of since Resolve was working is that I updated the OS from 10.6 (yes!) to Yosemite, then El Capitan.

I don't want to upgrade the whole computer. And I have no plans to deal with 4K footage, or quantities of it, etc. For the foreseeable future this would be HD stuff, relatively small amounts of it.