Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

timtyler

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:09 am
  • Location: Olympia, WA USA

Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostFri Aug 05, 2016 9:30 pm

Is there any way to cut a clip at the playhead without using the mouse?

That's a feature I've grown accustomed to in Premiere which will even perform the cut if the playhead is moving.
Tim Tyler
Resolve 12.5 on Windows 10
MC Color & Transport
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 260
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostFri Aug 05, 2016 9:50 pm

Command B
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.12.6, DR 14.1.0.018 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 48 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 4 x 6TB HD in raid 5 giving 18TB
Tangent Elements TK panel, Sony BVM-L230 reference monitor
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4230
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostSat Aug 06, 2016 9:29 am

For me, it's command-\, if you mean split a clip at the playhead.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

timtyler

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:09 am
  • Location: Olympia, WA USA

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostSat Aug 06, 2016 10:50 pm

Figured it out.

I had to switch the Keyboard Mapping in File / Project Settings / Keyboard Mapping from Premiere to Resolve.

Thanks!
Last edited by timtyler on Sat Aug 06, 2016 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tim Tyler
Resolve 12.5 on Windows 10
MC Color & Transport
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 260
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostSat Aug 06, 2016 11:01 pm

If you are on Windows it may be ALT B or ALT\

The Mac keyboard has the command key where the alt key is on windows.

from the good book...


Methods of splitting and joining clips:
> To split a clip once: Drag the playhead to the frame where you want to split a clip, and press Command-Backslash (\) to split every clip on a track with Auto Select enabled.
> To split many clips: Click the Razor Edit mode button (or press B), and then click clips in the Timeline to split as many clips as you want.
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.12.6, DR 14.1.0.018 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 48 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 4 x 6TB HD in raid 5 giving 18TB
Tangent Elements TK panel, Sony BVM-L230 reference monitor
Offline

timtyler

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:09 am
  • Location: Olympia, WA USA

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostSat Aug 06, 2016 11:07 pm

Thanks, Jack.
Tim Tyler
Resolve 12.5 on Windows 10
MC Color & Transport
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4230
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostSun Aug 07, 2016 12:51 am

Jack Swart wrote:Click the Razor Edit mode button (or press B), and then click clips in the Timeline to split as many clips as you want.

Ah, the RAZOR mode. Got it.

I use the split command when I'm in the Color page on occasions when I have a flattened file, or for some reason need to create a new match-frame edit.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Yilia1988

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:27 pm
  • Real Name: Yilia Swift

Re: Cut Clip at Playhead - Shortcut Key?

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 10:15 am

From my own user experience, it can work. I use video cutter for mac, which as well has Windows version.
It will auto-play the video for you once you import it to the media interface. Its well-designed timeline and handles allows you to control each second firmly. Without moving the playhead, you can directly enter the specific start time and end time to the temporal intervals. Hope it helps.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests