Alpha Matte Color Grading Workflow

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Victor Velasco

Alpha Matte Color Grading Workflow

PostSat Aug 06, 2016 5:36 am

Hi Everyone.
I'm relatively new to Davinci, so far it's great.
I'm having a VFX shot with an alpha matte. I managed to set the Alpha mate and do the key.
I have my background in one layer and my VFX shot in an upper layer.
The VFX shot matches with the background but both are LOG.
If I want to grade both at the same time, how can I do it? What's the popper way to color correct - color grade both?

Thanks in advance.
If it's not clear I can upload some screenshots.

Best!

Marc Wielage

Re: Alpha Matte Color Grading Workflow

PostTue Aug 09, 2016 12:03 am

As far as I know, you have to color-correct the background and the foreground separately. The only way to do both at the same time would be if you rendered that (either a compound clip or manually). It's not that hard to do them separately; I would stick with that.

It is possible to copy the grade for the foreground and apply it to the background (or vice-versa), so you can always use that as a starting point. The Unmix button is very helpful.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Dmitry Kitsov BMD

Blackmagic Design

PostTue Aug 09, 2016 4:06 pm

Hello, Victor,
In this case, where you have more than one layer and are using an alpha output there are at least few methods—here are 2:
there is an often overlooked feature in DaVinci Resolve, which allows you to group 2 or more clips and grade them together when necessary. If you are to select both plate and the VFX shot clips and chose to add them to a new group, you then will be able to switch the node tree mode from Clip to Group PreClip, and Group post Clip. Don’t forget to link them in the edit page, so they say together. You can read about the details on this workflows in the manual.